Emanuel County, GeorgiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Georgia Gotoarrow.png Emanuel County

Guide to Emanuel County Georgia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Georgia
Online Records
Emanuel County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Emanuel County
Location in the state of Georgia
Facts
Founded December 10, 1812
County Seat Swainsboro
Courthouse
Address Emanuel County Courthouse
201 N Main Street
PO Box 787
Swainsboro, Georgia 30401-2042
Phone: 912.237.8911
Emanuel County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Emanuel County Courthouse
201 N Main Street
PO Box 787
Swainsboro, Georgia 30401-2042
Phone: 912.237.8911

Probate Court has birth, marriage, death and probate records. Clerk Superior Court has divorce, court and land records from 1812.[1]

Beginning Dates for Emanuel County, Georgia Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate




1812

History

Parent County

1812--Emanuel County was created 10 December 1812 from Bulloch and Montgomery Counties.
County seat: Swainsboro [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

Fire.png
1841. The courthouse at Swainsboro burned 10 May 1841. Most county records were lost, but significant records still survive. Fires in 1919 and 1938 damaged the courthouse but no further county records were lost.[3]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Bulloch County  • Burke County  • Candler County  • Jefferson County  • Jenkins County  • Johnson County  • Laurens County  • Montgomery County  • Tattnall County  • Toombs County  • Treutlen County


Emanuel CountyTreutlen CountyMontgomery CountyToombs CountyTattnall CountyCandler CountyWheeler CountyEvans CountyEvans CountyLong CountyLiberty CountyBryan CountyChatham CountyEffingham CountyBulloch CountyScreven CountyJenkins CountyBurke CountyJefferson CountyWashington CountyJohnson CountyLaurens CountyDodge CountyTelfair CountyAllendale CountyHampton CountyBeaufort CountyJasper CountyGAEmanuel.JPG


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Emanuel County, Georgia. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

Maps

Gaemanuel.jpg

Military

Naturalization

Newspapers

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Emanuel County, Georgia newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

  • Wills 1825-1857 (digital images). See list of testators. Georgia Pioneers
  • Wills 1857-1907 (digital images). See list of testators.  Georgia Pioneers
  • Index to Wills, Administrations, Guardians, Bonds, Book A, 1815-1868 Georgia Pioneers ($)

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Birth

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
  • 1818-1885 - Emanuel County Birth Index 1818-1885. Batch C712751 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Marriage
  • 1817-1860 - Index to Emanuel County Marriages 1817-1860 Georgia Pioneers ($)
  • 1887-1895 - Emanuel County Marriage Book B Index 1887-1895. Batch M712753 at FamilySearch - free.
Death
  • 1859-60, 1879-80 - Emanuel County, Georgia Mortality Schedules at Ancestry ($).
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Emanuel County, Georgia. Page 155 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 30. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/57/Igigeorgiael.pdf.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 October 2014, at 00:21.
  • This page has been accessed 10,861 times.