Embleton, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Embleton, Northumberland family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Embleton, Northumberland
Church of the Holy Trinity Embleton Northumberland.JPG
Church of the Holy Trinity Embleton Northumberland
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bambrough
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Alnwick PLU
Registration District Alnwick
Records begin
Parish registers: 1660
Bishop's Transcripts: 1762
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Alnwick
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

EMBLETON (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Alnwick, S. division of Bambrough ward, N. division of Northumberland; comprising the townships of Broxfield, Bruton, Craster, Dunston, Embleton, Fallowdon, Newton-by-the-Sea, Rennington, Rock, and Stamford;  There is a place of worship for members of the Kirk of Scotland.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/101 1762-1850 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records 

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Embleton, Holy Trinity: Records of baptisms 1682-1983, marriages 1682-1962 and burials 1682-1934 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. Bishops' Transcripts for the period 1762-1850 are deposited at Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections, Palace Green, Durham City. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1660-1812 and marriages 1682-1812 for this parish, and Boyd's Marriage Index includes marriages 1682-1812 and banns 1754-1812. Transcripts of baptisms 1660-1812 and marriages and burials 1682-1812 for Embleton are available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept.

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438884.

Poor Law Unions

Alnwick Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

External Links

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Date accessed: 06 August 2013.
http://www.number10.gov.uk/history-and-tour/prime-ministers-in-history/earl-grey

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2014, at 21:26.
  • This page has been accessed 1,145 times.