Emmington, OxfordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Oxfordshire Gotoarrow.png  Oxfordshire Parishes

Guide to Emmington, Oxfordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Emmington, Oxfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lewknor
County Oxfordshire
Poor Law Union Thame PLU
Registration District Thame
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: 1639; 1684
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Aston
Diocese Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and the Archdeaconry of Oxford
Location of Archive
Oxfordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

EMMINGTON (St. Nicholas), a parish, in the union of Thame, hundred of Lewknor, county of Oxford, 3¼ miles (S. E.) from Thame. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Emmington, Oxfordshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.[4]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[5]
EMMINGTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1720-1773

IGI 1808-1852 1813-1836
OFHS 1539-1983
1539-1981
1539-1983
PALL
1800s


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474574.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 173-177. Date accessed: 19 September 2012.
  2. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county', Origins.net (Wayback Machine), accessed 21 January 2014.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Oxford, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 16 January 2014.
  4. 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,', Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 21 January 2014.
  5. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online. Date range is unclear.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 April 2014, at 03:38.
  • This page has been accessed 961 times.