Empingham, RutlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png RutlandGotoarrow.png Rutland Parishes

Guide to Empingham, Rutland family history and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Empingham, Rutland
St+Peter Empingham Rutland.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East
County Rutland
Poor Law Union Oakham PLU
Registration District Oakham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1563
Bishop's Transcripts: 1605
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rutland
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Prebend of Empingham Post-1850 - Court of the Bishop of Peterborough (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Rutland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

EMPINGHAM (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Oakham, hundred of East, county of Rutland,5 miles (W. by N.) from Stamford. [1]

Additional information:

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Empingham like this:

EMPINGHAM, a village and a parish in Oakham district, Rutland. The village stands on the river Gwash, 3½ miles NNW of Ketton r. station, and 6 WNW of Stamford. There is a Wesleyan chapel.

The Victoria County History of Empingham (1935) is available. It includes a history of the manor, church, advowson, and charities.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Empingham, Rutland parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[5]
EMPINGHAM PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1563-1576, 1777-1837

IGI 1605-1617, 1664-1744, 1813-1834 1563, 1576, 1605-1617, 1664-1744, 1779-1837
PALL
1780-1837

Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office

Diocese of Peterborough : Empingham Bap 1563-1932 Marr 1563 - 1990 Bur 1563 - 1948

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474578.

Poor Law Unions

Oakham Poor Law Union, Rutland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Rutland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 04 December 2013.
  2. A History of the County of Rutland, Volume 2 (1935). A History of the County of Rutland. Adapted. Date accessed: 04 December 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Rutland, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 April 2014.
  5. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 05:24.
  • This page has been accessed 1,440 times.