Enfield St Andrew, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Middlesex Gotoarrow.png  Middlesex Parishes Gotoarrow.png  Enfield St Andrew

Guide to Enfield St Andrew, Middlesex family history and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Enfield St. Andrew, was an ancient parish, in the union and hundred of Edmonton, County of Middlesex. It lay 10 miles north and east of the City of London. It had several district chapels within it including--

  • St Aldhelm, Lower Edmonton - 1885
  • St James Green-Street Ponder's End
  • St Luke, Browning Road - 1898
  • Jesus District Chapel, Forty Hill - 1832
  • Christ Church Trent

Enfield St Andrew had within its boundaries the following dissenting chapels:

  • Independents
  • Wesleyans Methodists
  • Presbyterians [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Enfield St Andrew Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1550
1550
1550
Images
1550-1816 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1813-1906 Ancestry[3] 1550-1921 Ancestry[4] 1844-1897 Ancestry[5]
Indexes 1550-1875 FamilySearch[6] 1550-1837 TheGenealogist[7]
1550-1874 FamilySearch[8]
1550-1837 FamilyRelatives[9]
1550-1837 Joiner[10]
1744-1837 FindMyPast[11]
    1790-1837 Ancestry[12]    

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.

Census and Inhabitants Lists

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438772.

1666 Hearth Tax


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Manorial Records

Records survive for Worcesters Manor (1539-1878) in Enfield Parish. The Manorial Documents Register will help you locate these records.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel Lewis, ed. "Elyhaugh - Enfield," In A Topographical Dictionary of England 173-177. (London: S. Lewis and Co., 1848), Online | here, (accessed: 21 May 2010).
  2. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as St Andrew in Enfield Borough. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  3. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as Enfield St Andrew in Enfield Borough. Partially indexed.
  4. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as Enfield St Andrew in Enfield Borough. Partially indexed.
  5. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as Enfield St Andrew in Enfield Borough. Partially indexed.
  6. Batch C067861-C067862, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 17 March 2012.
  7. 'Middlesex Parish Record Transcripts,' The Genealogist, accessed 10 March 2012.
  8. Batches M067861, M067862, M067863, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 17 March 2012.
  9. 'Middlesex Parish registers collection 1538 on Familyrelatives.com,' Family Relatives, accessed 12 March 2012. Derived from Phillimore Marriage Indexes.
  10. 'Search Marriage Records in Middlesex,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 20 March 2012.
  11. "West Middlesex Marriage Index Coverage," Find My Past, accessed 8 March 2012.
  12. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 April 2014, at 04:16.
  • This page has been accessed 3,135 times.