Enfield St James, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Middlesex Gotoarrow.png  Middlesex Parishes Gotoarrow.png  Enfield St James

Guide to Enfield St James, Middlesex family history and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Enfield St James, Middlesex
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Edmonton
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Edmonton PLU
Registration District Edmonton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1834
Bishop's Transcripts: 1834
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Enfield St James was a district church built as a chapel of ease for St Andrew Enfield--the ancient parish church, and established by the year 1832.[1] 

A district church, dedicated to St. James, [was] erected on Enfield Highway, in the division of Green-Street and Ponder's End; it is a handsome structure in the early English style, with a square embattled tower ornamented by pinnacles at the angles. The living is a perpetual curacy; net income, £150; patron, the Vicar of Enfield.[2]


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Enfield St James, Middlesex Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
.
.
.
Images
Indexes 1834-1841 BritishOrigins[3]

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438772.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 1. P.B. Dunn, A Guide to Ancestral Research in London, (BYU Printing Services, 2010).
  2. 2. Samuel Lewis, ed. A Topographical Dictionary of England 173-177. (London: S. Lewis and Co., 1848), Online here, (accessed: 21 April 2010).
  3. 'About Middlesex Baptisms Index 1538-1751,' British Origins, accessed 16 March 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 24 June 2014, at 22:28.
  • This page has been accessed 1,999 times.