England and Wales Census, 1851 (FamilySearch Historical Records)Edit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
|This article describes a collection of historical records available at FamilySearch.org.|
Access the records: England and Wales Census, 1851 .
This collection will include records for 1851.
Census schedules consist of large sheets with preprinted rows and columns. The schedules are arranged by county and then divided by civil parish, while some are further subdivided into smaller enumeration districts, each district being an area that could be enumerated in a day. For reference purposes, the National Archives assigned a piece number to each enumeration district and stamped a folio number in the upper right corner of each right-side page. The number refers to entries on both sides of the page (both the recto and verso of the folio).
Microfilm copies are also available at the Family Records Centre, located at 1 Myddelton Street, Islington, London EC1R 1UW.
The original schedules are well preserved and housed at the Public Records Office in Kew. Microfilm copies are located at the Family History Library, at the Family Records Centre in England, and at county record offices and some libraries. An attempt is now being made to preserve the records by transcribing and publishing them. Some of these preservation efforts are being published in book form, while others are being posted on the Internet.
The Registrar General created censuses for various reasons, including population studies, accessing military readiness, compiling lists of eligible voters, and tracking relief to the poor.
As with the 1841 census, the 1851 census has missing images. Ancestry.co.uk has provided a list of the missing images, as well as a listing of the areas that were damaged by water during storage and recoverable through new technology. findmypast also provides a listing, but you need to scroll down to this section to view it. If you are unable to locate your ancestor, it is wise to make sure their living area is one of the missing areas.
Census records usually contain the following information:
- Date, place, district, parish and county where census was taken
- Given names and surnames for members in each household
- Age, gender and birthplace for each household member
- Marital status and occupation for each household member
- Relationship to the head of the household
How to Use the Records
To begin your search, it would be helpful if you knew the person's name and the time period when he or she lived.
Search the Collection
To search by index: Fill in the requested information in the initial search page. This search will return a list of possible matches. Compare the information about the ancestors in the list to what you already know about your ancestors to determine if this is the correct family or person. You may need to look at several images and compare the information about the individuals listed in those images to your ancestors to make this determination.
All members of a family living in the same household will be listed together. When you find your family in one census, search earlier or later censuses to find additional family members and to verify details.
For tips about searching on-line collections see the wiki article FamilySearch Search Tips and Tricks
Tips to Keep in Mind
- You may have to read around marks made by the clerks who compiled the census data. These marks sometimes obscure the information.
- The census record may also list the birth country for people born outside of England.
- Accept the ages with caution.
- Given names may not be the same as a name recorded in church or vital records.
- The information may be incorrect.
- Names may be spelled phonetically (or as they sounded to the census taker).
- Place-names may be misspelled.
- Individuals missing from a family may be listed elsewhere in the census.
- Occupations listed can lead you to employment records.
General Information About These Records
Census records are a good source to use as you search for your relatives. Use census records to help you find the age of your ancestor, as well as birthplace, occupation, and address. The records can also help you define relationships between individuals.
The Registrar General created the national censuses. Enumerators went door to door collecting the data in census books. Censuses taken between 1851 and 1931 were conducted on a single day, sometime between March 31 and April 8. The census takers listed only those who spent the night in each household, so individuals who were traveling or at school were listed where they spent the night. Almost all of the residents of England, whether they were citizens or not, are included in the census.
The British government has taken censuses every 10 years since 1801, except for 1941. This census covers those living in England and Wales on 31 March 1851.
The information gathered by the census taker is only as reliable as the person who provided the information. While some information may not be completely accurate, it can still provide important clues in locating an ancestor.
|FHL Place England items or FHL Keyword England items in the FamilySearch Library Catalog. For other libraries (local and national) or to gain access to items of interest, see England Archives and Libraries.|
|FHL Place Wales items or FHL Keyword Wales items in the FamilySearch Library Catalog. For other libraries (local and national) or to gain access to items of interest, see Wales Archives and Libraries.|
- England and Wales Census, 1851
- UK Census Online Free Search
- England and Wales Historic Maps
- England and Wales History Links
Related Wiki Articles
Contributions to This Article
|We welcome user additions to FamilySearch Historical Records wiki articles. Guidelines are available to help you make changes. Thank you for any contributions you may provide. If you would like to get more involved join the WikiProject FamilySearch Records.|
Citations for This Collection
When you copy information from a record, you should list where you found the information; that is, cite your sources. This will help people find the record again and evaluate the reliability of the source. It is also good to keep track of records where you did not find information, including the names of the people you looked for in the records. Citations are available for the collection as a whole and each record or image individually.
- "England and Wales Census, 1851." Index. FamilySearch. http://FamilySearch.org : accessed 2014. Citing The National Archives, Surrey, England.
Record Citation (or citation for the index entry):
|The citation for a record is available with each record in this collection, at the bottom of the record screen. You can search records in this collection by visiting the search page for England and Wales Census, 1851.|
- This page was last modified on 21 January 2015, at 23:18.
- This page has been accessed 26,367 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More