Englishcombe, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Englishcombe, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Englishcombe, Somerset
Englishcombe (Somerset) St Peter.jpg
Englishcombe (Somerset) St Peter
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wellow
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Bath PLU
Registration District Bath
Records begin
Parish registers: 1728
Bishop's Transcripts: 1605
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bath
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Bath and Wells (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

COMBE, ENGLISH, a parish, in the union of Bath, hundred of Wellow, E. division of Somerset, 3 miles (S. W.) from Bath. There are places of worship for Baptists and Lady Huntingdon's Connexion.[1]

The church, dedicated to St Peter, was probably built by Robert de Gournay in the 12th century. The church features Norman arches and leper holes in the porch, which would have enabled lepers to hear the sermon without coming into contact with the rest of the congregation. It has been designated as a Grade I listed building by English Heritage.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Englishcombe, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (findmypast) - (£)[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[5]
SOPC = Somerset Online Parish Clerks - free[6]
ENGLISHCOMBE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1605-1912 (gaps)
1605-1912 (gaps)
1605-1909 (gaps)
MARR
1605-1668, 1756-1837

NBI

1609-1909
PALL
1790-1812

SOPC 1783-1915
1756-1838
1813-1909

Known Issue England Vital Records Index (FamilySearch Historical Records) has been found to contain entries for Exton, Somerset which are in fact Englishcombe Baptisms.

Examination of the original transcript reveals that two pages of Englishcombe baptisms are included in the final Exton marriage transcripts in the Transcript series. This was not identiifed during microfilm acquisition or subsequent indexing of the transcript pages and therefore the place data entry for these events is incorrect and awaits future correction.

The source information for the parish is derived from Bishop's Transcripts only and researchers are advised to refer to the Somerset Online Parish Clerk website for Englishcombe events.

The Genealogical Society of Utah has no microfilm holding for Englishcombe and the Somerset online Parish Clerk  website has transcribed the parish registers.

Somerset Online Parish Clerks

Contributor include here any information about the transcripts for the parish and links to the Online Parish Clerk material.

Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474605.


Poor Law Unions

Bath Poor Law Union, Somerset

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/EnglishCombe/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date Accessed: 19 September 2013.
  2. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 3 February 2014.
  3. 'Somerset Marriages', findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 29 April 2014.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  5. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  6. Somerset Online Parish Clerks Genealogy, accessed 22 October 2013.
  7. E 179 Database, The National Archives, http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/e179/, accessed 8 August 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:00.
  • This page has been accessed 3,776 times.