Episcopal Church in the United StatesEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Church Records Gotoarrow.png  Episcopal Church Records

History in the United States

Contents

The Episcopal Church is the United States version  of the Anglican Church  or Church of England. It is also known as Protestant Episcopal Church. It was well-established in Virginia, Maryland, North Carolina and a few other English colonies in North America in the 1600s. It was very strong in colonial times, especially in the Southern states.

It is a worldwide family of autonomous churches. Other names used by Episcopal churches around the world have included:

  • Anglican Church
  • Anglican Church of Canada
  • Church of England
  • Church of Scotland
  • Church in Wales
  • Church of Ireland
  • Episcopal Church
  • Protestant Episcopal Church

Episcopal Church Records

Types of Records

These types of Episcopal Church records are useful to genealogical researchers:

  • Baptism (infant)
  • Confirmations
  • Marriages
  • Deaths and burials
  • Vestry minutes which in colonial days often included what would now be considered government matters such as taxes, road building, and property records.

Where they are Located

Examples of Episcopal archives and organizations in the United States include:

  • Archives of the Episcopal Church
606 Rathervue Place (P.O. Box 2247)
Austin, Texas 78768
Telephone: 512-472-6816
Fax: 512-480-0437
E-mail: research@episcopalarchives.org
Internet: http://www.episcopalarchives.org/

  • Virginia Theological Seminary.jpg
    Virginia Theological Seminary
Archives of the Bishop Payne Library
3737 Seminary Road
Alexandria, VA 22304
Telephone: 703-461-1731
E-mail: AskArchives@vts.edu
Internet: Virginia Theological Seminary Archives

Houses many of the original Church of England (now Episcopalian Church) parish registers, vestry books, and manuscripts of colonial Virginia, as well as photos, and the African American Episcopal Historical Collection.[1] Formerly known as the Protestant Episcopal Theological Seminary in Virginia.

Suite 406
2296 Henderson Mill Road, NE
Atlanta, GA 30345-2739
Telephone: 800-914-2000
Voice: 770-414-1515
Fax: 770-414-1518
Internet: List of parishes and other affiliates

800 Maplewood Avenue (P.O. Box 447)
Ambridge, PA 15003-0447
Telephone: 724-266-9400
Fax: 724-266-1129
Email: admin@anglicanchurch.net

A wiki article describing an online collection of Episcopal Church records is found at:

References

  1. Archives in Virginia Theological Seminary (accessed 5 January 2014).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 July 2014, at 19:03.
  • This page has been accessed 2,149 times.