Episcopal Diocese of South Carolina ArchivesEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Episcopal Diocese of South Carolina Archives

Contents

Contact Information

E-mail:[1]  bsnyder@dioceseofsc.org Mrs. Beth Snyder

Address:[1]

Diocesan House
126 Coming Street
Charleston, SC 29403

Telephone:[1]  843-722-4075, Fax: 843-723-7628

Map and public transportation:

Map: Google map.
Public transportation: CARTA trolley routes stop within three blocks:
  • trolley route 210 Warren Street and St. Philip Street
  • trolley route 211 King Street and Warren Street
  • trolley route 213 King Street and Warren Street

Internet sites and databases: Diocese of South Carolina (official site)

See also: FamilySearch Wiki South Carolina Church Records - Church of England (Anglican, Protestant Episcopal).

Collection Description

Many original Church of England (Episcopal Church) records dating from South Carolina's colonial period (1706-1778) are kept at this facility. The colonial government until 1785 requested the help of local Episcopal parishes in certain functions including record keeping. All surviving colonial parish registers have been published in South Carolina Historical and Genealogical Magazine (FHL Book 975.7 B2s) WorldCat entry, or in book form.[2]

For a descriptive inventory of surviving colonial and more recent parish records, see Margaretta Childs, and Isabella G. Leland, "South Carolina Episcopal Church Records," South Carolina Historical and Genealogical Magazine 84 (October 1983): 250-63. (FHL Book 975.7 B2s v. 84), WorldCat entry, digital version at JSTOR ($).

For citations of most individually published parish registers, see each parish's Wiki page: All Saints · Christ Church · Prince Frederick · Prince George · Prince William · St. Andrew's · St. Bartholomew's · St. David's · St. George Dorchester · St. Helena's · St. James Goose Creek · St. James Santee · St. John's Berkeley · St. John's Colleton · St. Luke's · St. Mark's · St. Matthew's · St. Michael's · St. Paul's · St. Peter's · St. Philip's · St. Stephen's · St. Thomas and St. Denis

Alternate Repositories

If you cannot visit or find a source at the Episcopal Diocese of South Carolina Archives, a similar source may be available at one of the following.

Overlapping Collections

  • Archives of the Episcopal Church, Austin, TX, has records of national officers. Most parish register birth, marriage, and death records remain at the parish level.

Similar Collections

  • Historical Charleston Foundation preservation, museums, events, experience history, media, shop.
  • South Carolina Department of Archives and History federal and state censuses, county probate and land records, family histories, cemeteries, taxes, newspapers, equity court records, state death certificates.
  • South Carolina Historical Society, Charleston, SC, diaries and papers, plantation, business, and church records, maps, plats, genealogies, 30,000 photos, 50,000 books, pamphlets, and serials.
  • South Caroliniana Library (Univ. of SC, Columbia) 75,000 books/micrifilms, 1.3 manuscripts including genealogies, and the notable collections of Leonardo Andrea, Bessie Lee Garvin, and Louise K. Crowder.

Neighboring Collections

Sources

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 Diocese of South Carolina at http://www.dioceseofsc.org/ (accessed 17 May 2011).
  2. Alice Eichholz, ed., Redbook: American State, County, and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 600. (FHL Book 973 D27rb). WorldCat entry.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 May 2011, at 22:33.
  • This page has been accessed 2,730 times.