Esh, DurhamEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Guide to Esh, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Esh, Durham
Esh St Michael Co Durham.jpg
Esh St Michael Co Durham
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chester
County Durham
Poor Law Union Lanchester PLU
Registration District Durham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1567
Bishop's Transcripts: 1795
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chester le Street
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ESH, or ASH, a chapelry, in the parish and union of Lanchester, W. division of Chester ward, N. division of the county of Durham, 5 miles (W. N. W.) from Durham. There is a Roman Catholic chapel in the village; and at a short distance to the east is the Roman Catholic College of Ushaw. [1]

Additional information: Esh was created as a parish from the ancient parish of Lanchester, Durham and had an old chapelry on the site until the church of St Michael was built in 1770, rebuilding the chapelry and forming a parish. Ushaw, Ushaw Moor,Esh Village,Esh Winning and Langley Park are within the parish and subsequent parishes were created from within the parish.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Esh, Durham parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
ESH PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1790-1812

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Durham University Library Archives and Special Collection Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/103 Date: March 1795
Contents: Including transcripts from Satley, August 1796-August 1797, 1802, 1820 DDR/EA/PBT/2/219 Related material at DULASC:
Some Esh transcripts May 1763-1803 are included with Lanchester transcripts DDR/EA/PBT/2/164 Related materials (elsewhere): Transcripts for 1709-1710 are among the Durham Bishop's Transcripts: The Howe Manuscript Collection
 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records. The transcripts May 1763-1867 should be considered along Lanchester transcripts which include Esh transcripts for May 1763-1807. Esh is also included Durham Bishop's Transcripts: The Howe Manuscript Collection

Transcripts for Satley County Durham for the years August 1796- August 1797,1802,1820 are also included (see also the Satley transcripts)

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events. The Parish Registers for the period 1567-1981 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Esh).

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241348.

Poor Law Unions

Lanchester Poor Law Union,Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 181-186. Adapted. Date accessed: 11 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 May 2014, at 21:32.
  • This page has been accessed 1,331 times.