Eskdaleside, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.pngYorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.png North Riding Of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Eskdaleside

Guide to Eskdaleside, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Eskdaleside, Yorkshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Whitby-Strand
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Whitby PLU
Registration District Whitby
Records begin
Parish registers: 1723
Bishop's Transcripts: 1636
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cleveland
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Eskdaleside is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Yorkshire, created in 1735 from Whitby, Yorkshire Ancient Parish.

ESKDALE-SIDE, a chapelry, in the parish and union of Whitby, liberty of Whitby-Strand, N. riding of York, 5½ miles (S. W.) from Whitby; containing 519 inhabitants. [1]

See also the Church of St John the Evangelist Sleights, Yorkshire

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Eskdaleside exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS = FamilySearch.org
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
ESKDALESIDE CHAPELRY (1742) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1761-1812


FS 1742-1865

1804-1881

None

NBI

1636-1637, 1767-1865

For a full list of all those chapels comprising the whole ancient parish of Whitby to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the WHITBY PARISH page.

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464236.

Poor Law Unions

Whitby Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 181-186. Adapted; Date accessed: 27 September 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 27 October 2014.
  3. 'National Burial Index - Yorkshire (North Riding) Coverage,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 20 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:51.
  • This page has been accessed 1,298 times.