Esmeralda County, NevadaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Esmeralda County Nevada genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Nevada Gotoarrow.png Esmeralda County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Nevada
Online Records


Esmeralda County, Nevada
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Nevada
Location of Nevada in the U.S.
Facts
Founded November 25, 1861
County Seat Goldfield
Courthouse
Address PO Box 547
Goldfield, NV 89013-0547
Phone: 775.485.6367
Esmeralda County Website


Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Land
Probate
Court
1887*
1871*
1887*
1863
1881
1864
* For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Resources

Biography

Cemeteries

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Nevada Church Records.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local histories are available for Esmeralda County, Nevada. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nevada Local Histories.

Land and Property

The county recorder's office keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

In the FamilySearch Catalog, land records for Nevada are listed in the Place Search under: NEVADA, Esmeralda – LAND AND PROPERTY

Maps

Nvesmerelda.jpg

Migration

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Esmeralda County, Nevada newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate

Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Nevada Probate Records for additional information.

Public Records

Repositories

Courthouse

Esmeralda County Courthouse
PO Box 547
Goldfield, NV 89013-0547
Phone: 775.485.6367

County Clerk and Treasurer Office has marriage records from 1898,
divorce and probate records from 1908, court records from 1907 and
naturalization records from 1904. [2]

Family History Centers
Libraries
  • Goldfield Public Library
    P. O. Box 430
    Goldfield, Nevada 89013
    775-485-3236
Museums
Societies

Taxation

Nevada tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records. Most tax records can be obtained from the county treasurer or assessor. For more information, see the wiki page Nevada Taxation. The Family History Library does not have copies of Nevada tax records (as of June 2013).

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most Nevada original records can be purchased from the Nevada State Health Division or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Nevada Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.

Birth

FHL entries for Esmeralda County birth and death records, 1887-1922, click here[low quality link]

Marriage

Over 389 marriages from 8 Nov 1863 to 29 Dec 1908 are listed in the Western States Marriage Index.

Death

FHL entries for Esmeralda County birth and death records, 1887-1922, click here[low quality link]

Records of deaths that happened in Esmeralda County as well as in other places and buried in Esmeralda County. The records also include deaths in Mineral and Nye Counties. Records are from various sources including newspapers and funeral homes. Searchable by alphabetical index.

Websites

  • USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
  • FamilySearch Catalog

Places

Alkali Coyote Hole Goldfield Silver Peak
Aurora Dyer Lida Tokop
Blair Florence Hill McLeans Weepah
Coaldale Gemfield Millers West Spring
Coaldale Junction Gold Hit Montezuma
Columbus Gold Point Montezuma Wells

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Esmeralda County, Oregon page 442, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 24 September 2014, at 15:25.
  • This page has been accessed 8,872 times.