Essex GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England Essex Genealogy
Guide to Essex Genealogy ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
England, and one of the home counties.
Use an interactive map to find jurisdictions for each parish in Essex.
When the civil (government) registration of births, marriages and deaths began in 1837, Essex was divided into registration districts, each containing several parishes. To see a list of districts and the parishes they contained, click here.
Read more about England Civil Registration.
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W
To see a list of Essex parishes and the pre-1858 ecclesiastical courts that had probate jurisdiction over them, go to Essex Probate Records.
Search the Essex Place-names site for locations throughout the county.
- Essex Resources and help pages on RootsChat Essex Resources and help pages. (Free).
History House - the history of Essex. Dips into the history of its towns, villages, parishes, and its people; includes White's 1848 and 1863 Directories and 1874 Post Office Directory. www.historyhouse.co.uk
A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:
To view a further list of web sites and/or web pages for Essex and many of its parishes, visit FHLFavorites.info.
Links to articles, subcategories and images under the Category Essex Genealogy
Essex Genealogy See other websites listed in the various Topics articles.
- This page was last modified on 12 February 2015, at 10:29.
- This page has been accessed 156,077 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News