Essex County, VermontEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Essex County Vermont ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Vermont Gotoarrow.png Essex County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Vermont
Online Records
Essex County, Vermont
Map
Map of Vermont highlighting Essex County
Location in the state of Vermont
Facts
Founded November 5, 1792
County Seat Guildhall
Courthouse
Address Essex County Courthouse
P.O. Box 75
Guildhall, VT 05905-0075
Phone:802-676-3910
Fax: 802-676-3463
Essex County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

County clerk has birth and death records from 1884, marriage and burial records, a few divorce records, court records from 1800 and land records from 1762; probate judge has probate records from 1800.

Towns Organized Before 1800:
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Essex County, Vermont
Bloomfield 1762,
Brunswick 1761,
Canaan 1782,
Concord 1780,
Guildhall 1761,
Lunenburg 1763,
Maidstone 1761,
Victory 1781[1]

Quick Facts

Parent County

  • Created 5 November 1792 from Orange County. [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Vermont County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Vermont County Boundary Maps" (1764-1895) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

Places / Localities

VermontGrafton CountyCaledonia CountyEssex CountyOrleans CountyQuebecNew HampshireCoos CountyConcordVictoryEast HavenFerdinandBrightonAvery’s GoreWarren’s GoreWarner's GrantNortonAverillCanaanLemingtonBloomfieldLewisBrunswickMaidstoneGranbyGuildhallLunenburgLittletonBethlehemLymanMonroeBarnetWaterfordSaint JohnsburyKirbyLyndonBurkeSuttonNewarkWestmoreCharlestonMorganHollandDerbyStanstead EstBarnston OuestCoaticookDixvilleSaint HermenegildeEast HerefordPittsburgClarksvilleStewartstownColebrookColumbiaStratfordOdellNorthumberlandStarkLancasterKilkennyBerlinRandolphJeffersonWhitefieldDalton
Modern town borders in Essex County, Vermont.

  Towns

Extinct Towns[2]

Unincorporated[3]

Community

  • Island Pond

Neighboring Counties

Caledonia | Orleans |
New Hampshire counties: Coös | Grafton |
Quebec counties: Compton | Stanstead

Resources

Archives and Libraries

Cemeteries

Church Records

Court Records

Gazetteers

History

  • Jeffrey, William H. Successful Vermonters; a modern gazetteer of Caledonia, Essex, and Orleans Counties. East Burke, Vermont, The Historical Publishing Company, 1904. Online.

  • Child, Hamilton Gazetteer of Caledonia and Essex Counties, Vt. 1764-1887. Caledonia County, Vermont, Syracuse Journal Company, Printers and Binders, 1887. Online.

Land and Property

Maps

Vtessex.jpg

Military Records

Newspapers

The following historical newspapers cover Essex County.

Probate Records

Vermont, Probate Files, 1800-1921. This collection includes an index and images of probate estate files for Essex County.

Taxation

Vital Record

Vermont vital records were kept on the town level, and the date when formal record keeping began varied from place to place. A law requiring civil registration was enacted in 1779.

In 1857, the state began requiring town clerks to create records of the previous year’s vital events and send them to the secretary of state. The state sent cards to cities and towns, where clerks filled them out with data extracted from their vital records and then sent them back.

Those conducting research for a family that resided in one particular town, should also contact the town clerk of the town where the vital event took place. A list of town clerks can be found on the Vermont Secretary of State website.

All of the vital records in the state registry are available online. There are no restrictions on public access to Vermont vital records.

See also How to order Vermont Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Vermont Birth Certificates, Marriage Certificates, Divorce Certificates and Death Certificates for applications to mail.

Societies, Libraries and Museums

Essex and Orleans Counties Historical Societies

See also a List of Vermont Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 698. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Michael J. Leclerc, Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research, 5th ed. (Boston, Mass.: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2012), 394-95. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974 D27g 2012.
  3. Leclerc, 394-95.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 November 2014, at 20:29.
  • This page has been accessed 11,875 times.