Etchingham, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Etchingham, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Etchingham, Sussex
Etchingham St Nicholas& St Mary East Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Henhurst
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Ticehurst PLU
Registration District Ticehurst
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1604
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dallington
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ETCHINGHAM, a parish, in the union of Ticehurst, hundred of Henhurst, rape of Hastings, E. division of Sussex, 8 miles (S. by E.) from Lamberhurst.[1]


Etchingham the Assumption of the Blessed Mary and St Nicholas is an Ancient Parish in the Rother district of East Sussex and includes Hurst Green and Flimwell. A small part of the parish boundary forms the county boundary with neighbour Hawkhurst, Kent

A history of the church Etchingham The Assumption of the Blessed Mary and St Nicholas

The Parish Church has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

Etchingham Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

Hurst Green Holy Trinity was formed from this parish, see places of worhip in Hurst Green at Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC) Hurst Green East Sussex and details of the village and civil parish Hurst Green East Sussex Wikipedia

See also Etchingham Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

For civil registration history see Ticehurst registration district

Church records

Etchingham, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[5]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[6]
Etchingham, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1873-1887


BOYD
1561-1812

IGI 1561-1872 1561-1881
PRTS
1561-1812

SOPC Undefined
Undefined
Undefined

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Etchingham

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464158.

Poor Law Unions

Ticehurst Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 186-191. Date Accessed: 4 October 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 3 January 2014.
  5. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.
  6. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:43.
  • This page has been accessed 1,272 times.