Etowah County, AlabamaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Alabama  Gotoarrow.png  Etowah County

Guide to Etowah County Alabama genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Hand and keyboard.jpg Alabama
Online Records


Etowah County, Alabama
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Alabama
Location of Alabama in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 7, 1866
County Seat Gadsden
Courthouse
Address Etowah County Courthouse]
800 Forrest Avenue
Gadsden, AL 35901
Phone: (256) 549-5429 Etowah County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Etowah County, Alabama Courthouse.jpg
Etowah County Courthouse
800 Forrest Avenue
Gadsden, AL 35901
Phone: (256) 549-5429

Probate Judge has marriage divorce, probate and land records from 1867[1]

History

Parent County

1866--Etowah County was created 7 December 1866 from Blount, Calhoun, Cherokee, DeKalb, Marshal and St. Clair Counties. It was formerly Baine County, which was abolished 3 December 1867, and re-etablished 1 December 1868.
County seat:  Gadsden [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Alabama county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Alabama County Boundary Maps" (1799-1980) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Alabama counties see: Alabama Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Aletowah.jpg

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Biographies

Biographies of many notable residents of Etowah County, Alabama were published in Memorial Record of Alabama (1893). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free. Begins on page 1010.

Cemeteries


Free Online Cemetery Transcripts


In the early 1960s, volunteers from the Gadsden Branch of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints transcribed gravestones from all 94-known Etowah County cemeteries (approximately 20,000 names). A surname index covering both volumes appears in Volume 1.

  • Cemetery Survey: Etowah County - Alabama. Vol. 1. 1963. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free. Includes Altoona-Walnut Grove Cemetery, Antioch Baptist Church Cemetery, Armstrong Cemetery, Aurora Cemetery, Bethany Cemetery, Bethlehem Congregational Methodist Church Cemetery, Bethlehem United Baptist Church Cemetery, Brasher Cemetery, Bristow Cemetery, Butler Baptist Church Cemetery, Caddel Cemetery, Carnes Chapel Cemetery, Cave Springs Cemetery, Chapman's Chapel Cemetery, Clayton Cemetery, Conn Cemetery, Cox Cemetery, Darrow-Coats Cemetery, Dooley Cemetery, Duck Springs Cemetery, Gallant Cemetery, Greenwood Baptist Church Cemetery, Happy Hill Missionary Baptist Church Cemetery, Hibbs Cemetery, Hokes Bluff Cemetery, Holden Cemetery, Howelton Cemetery, Jordan Cemetery, Keeling Cemetery, Kyuka Cemetery (formerly Scott Cemetery), Lee Cemetery, Lee Cemetery (near Rainbow City, Ala.), McCartney Cemetery, Mizell Cemetery, Moragne Cemetery, Mortons Chapel Methodist Church Cemetery, Mt. Olive Baptist Church Cemetery, Mt. Pleasant Cemetery, New Bethel Congregational Methodist Church Cemetery, New Hope Missionary Baptist Church Cemetery, New Welcome Baptist Church Cemetery, Noble Hill Cemetery, Old Moody Chapel Cemetery, Old Smallpox Cemetery, Owens Cemetery, Pilgrims Rest Church Cemetery, Pine Grove Missionary Baptist Church Cemetery, Pine View Congregational Methodist Church Cemetery, Pleasant Hill Baptist Church Cemetery, Pleasant Hill Baptist Church Cemetery (Mountainboro, Ala.), Red Hill Methodist Church Cemetery, Reid Cemetery, Sansom Cemetery, Sardis Baptist Church Cemetery, Shady Grove Church Cemetery, Shiloh United Primitive Baptist Church Cemetery, Smith's Chapel Methodist Church Cemetery, Snead Memorial Methodist Church Cemetery, Spraggins Cemetery, Tanner Cemetery, Thrasher Cemetery, Tillison Cemetery (also Burger Cemetery), Whitesboro Cemetery, and Youngs Chapel Cemetery.
  • Cemetery Survey: Etowah County - Alabama. Vol. 2. 1963. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free. Includes Black Creek Baptist Church Cemetery, Congregation Beth Israel Cemetery, Cornelius Cemetery, Dillard-Copeland Cemetery, Fairview Baptist Church Cemetery, Forrest Cemetery, Garner Cemetery, Lebonan Advent Church Cemetery, Liberty Methodist Church Cemetery, Lookout Mt. Methodist Church Cemetery, McCauley Chapel Methodist Church Cemetery, Mt. Pisgah Cemetery, Mt. Pisgah Baptist Church (Moody), Mt. Tabor Baptist Church Cemetery, Oak Hill Cemetery, Old Attalla Cemetery, Old Harmony Baptist Church Cemetery, Phillips-Smith Cemetery, Pleasant Hill Methodist Church Cemetery, Samuels Chapel Methodist Church Cemetery, Sauls Cemetery, Turkeytown Methodist Church Cemetery, Union Baptist Church Cemetery, Union Hill Methodist Church Cemetery, Walker Cemetery, and Whites Chapel Cemetery.
  • Etowah County, Alabama Cemetery Records. 1943. Includes Alabama City Cemetery, Attalla Cemetery, Baptist Church Cemetery, Beth Israel Cemetery, Bethany Cemetery, Clayton Cemetery, Fairview Church Cemetery, Garner Cemetery, Hokes Bluff Cemetery, McCauley Chapel Cemetery, Moragne Cemetery, Mt. Tabor Cemetery, Noble Cemetery, Pine Grove Cemetery, Pleasant Hill South Methodist Church Cemetery, Reed Cemetery, Tillison Cemetery, Turkeytown Methodist Church Cemetery, Union Hill Cemetery, Whorton's Bend Cemetery. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Additional Etowah County cemetery records are included in Alabama Cemetery Records Vol. 1 at FamilySearch Books Online - free.

Census

Escambia County, Alabama
Year Pop.  %±
1870 4,041
1880 5,719 41.5%
1890 8,666 51.5%
1900 11,320 30.6%
1910 18,889 66.9%
1920 22,464 18.9%
1930 27,963 24.5%
1940 30,671 9.7%
1950 31,443 2.5%
1960 33,511 6.6%
1970 34,912 4.2%
1980 38,440 10.1%
1990 35,518 −7.6%
2000 38,440 8.2%
2010 38,319 −0.3%
For tips on accessing Etowah County, Alabama census records online, see: Alabama Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Alabama denominations, view the Alabama Church Records wiki page.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Gadsen

Court Records

Directories

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Alabama Land and Property for additional information about early Alabama land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Etowah County, Alabama. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alabama Local Histories.

  • Barnes, Joe. History of Hokes Bluff, Alabama, and Eastern Etowah County. n.d. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.

Maps

Military


Newspapers

Finding More Alabama Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Etowah County, Alabama newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Etowah County, Alabama Probate Court. Most records are housed at the Etowah County, Alabama Courthouse. Many records are on microfilm at the Family History Library.

See the wiki page Alabama Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, dower records, personal property sales, settlement records, orphans’ records, and bonds.

  • 1830-1976 - Etowah County, Alabama Probate Records, 1830-1976 at FamilySearch - free.

Taxation

Alabama tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Alabama Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Alabama State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Alabama. See also How to order Alabama Vital Records


Birth
Marriage
  • To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry – ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
  • 1860, 1879-1892, 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800–1969 at Ancestry – ($); Index. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.
  • 1867–1900 "Alabama Marriages, 1809–1920"at Ancestry – ($); Index. This database is a collection of marriage records from the state. Researchers will find the names of both bride and groom along with the marriage date. The county where the ceremony was performed is also provided. Containing about 150,000 records and the names of nearly 300,000 men and women.
Death
  • 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry – ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.

Voting Registers

Alabama Voting Registers for 1867 are available online at the Alabama Department of Archives and History.  Etowah County has one book.

Societies and Libraries

Libraries

  • Howard Gardner Nichols Memorial Library
    • Dwight & Cabot Ave
      Gadsen, Etowah, Alabama 35902
      Phone: 256-490-4683
    • Hours: Thur 10am-3pm;
      Open the 4th Sat of the month from 10am-3pm
    • Nichols Memorial Library is a genealogy library & the home of the NorthEast Alabama Genealogical Society (NEAGS). See site at neags.com for more information.
  • Gadsden Public Library
    254 College St.
    Gadsden, Alabama 35901
    Telephone: 256-549-4699
    Their collection includes local histories, newspapers, maps, online databases, and more.


Helpful Websites

Family History Center

Etowah County Alabama Genealogy Websites

Etowah County Alabama Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Greene County p. 37. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/06/Igialabamadj.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 July 2014, at 18:21.
  • This page has been accessed 26,561 times.