Ettingshall, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Ettingshall, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ettingshall, Staffordshire
Holy Trinity, Ettingshall Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Seisdon
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Dudley; Wolverhampton PLU
Registration District Dudley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1835
Bishop's Transcripts: 1837
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Himley
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ETTINGSALL, an ecclesiastical district, partly in the parish of Sedgley, union of Dudley, and partly in the parish and union of Wolverhampton, N. division of the hundred of Seisdon, S. division of the county of Stafford, 1 mile (W. S. W.) from Bilston. The Wesleyans have two places of worship. [1]

Ettingshall Holy Trinity is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Staffordshire, created in 1837 from  Sedgley, Staffordshire Ancient Parish,Wolverhampton St Peter, Staffordshire Ancient Parish and Bilston, Staffordshire Ecclesiastical Parish.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See West Midlands BMD and Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Ettingshall Holy Trinity was formed in 1837

Ettingshall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (findmypast) - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FS = FamilySearch - free[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[6]
WOLV = Wolverhampton History - free[7]
ETTINGSHALL HOLY TRINITY PARISH (1835) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1835-1889


FMP 1835-1901 1835-1901 1817-1900 1817-1900
FREG 1835-1903
FS 1835-1856


NBI

1741-1813
WOLV 1835-1903


Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1835-1961 Mar 1847-1990 Bur none no burial ground
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1835-1856 Mar none Bur none

Non-Conformist Churches

George St Wesleyan Methodist registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following

GEORGE ST WESLEYAN METHODIST (1825) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1825-1903







Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474626.

Poor Law Unions

Dudley Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Wolverhampton Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 186-191. Date accessed: 22 October 2012.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 11 September 2013.
  3. 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 23 July 2014.
  4. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 14 August 2014.
  5. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 18 September 2013.
  6. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
  7. 'Parish Register Indexes', The History of Wolverhampton: The City and Its People, accessed 20 August 2014.
  8. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:48.
  • This page has been accessed 2,237 times.