Eureka County, NevadaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Nevada
Eureka County
Guide to Eureka County Nevada genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Eureka County, Nevada | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Nevada in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | March 1, 1873 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Lander |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | 701 S Main Street PO Box 677 Eureka, NV 89316-0677 Phone: 775.237.5262 Eureka County Website |
Historical Facts
| Beginning dates for major county records | |||||
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| * For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries | |||||
- Parent County: created 1 March 1873 from Lander
- County Seat: Eureka [1]
- Neighboring Counties: Elko | Lander | Nye | White Pine
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Resources
Biography
Cemeteries
Church Records
Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Nevada Church Records.
Court Records
Directories
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups
Gazetteers
Genealogy
History
Local histories are available for Eureka County, Nevada. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nevada Local Histories.
Land and Property
The county recorder's office keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.
In the Family History Library Catalog, land records for Nevada are listed in the Place Search under: NEVADA, Eureka – LAND AND PROPERTY
Maps
Migration
Early migration routes to and from Eureka County, Nevada for emigrant settlers included:
- California Trail 1846 to 1869 from western Missouri to northern California[2]
- Central Pacific Railroad since 1869 from Ogden, Utah to Sacramento, California[3]
- Central Overland Trail 1859-1869 from Salt Lake City, Utah to Carson City, Nevada through central Nevada on a route south of the Humboldt River][4]
Military
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Eureka County, Nevada newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat
- FamilySearch. Do a Eureka County, Nevada Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see, FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Obituaries
Probate
Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Nevada Probate Records for additional information.
Public Records
Repositories
Courthouse
Eureka County Courthouse
701 S Main Street PO Box 677
Eureka, NV 89316-0677
Phone: 775.237.5262
County Recorder has birth, marriage, death, burial and land records.
County Clerk has divorce, probate and court records from 1874. [5]
Family History Centers
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
Libraries
Museums
Societies
- Eureka County Historical Society
31 S Main St. St 1
P. O. Box 283
Eureka, Nevada 89316
Phone: (775) 237-6006
Taxation
Nevada tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records. Most tax records can be obtained from the county treasurer or assessor. For more information, see the wiki page Nevada Taxation. The Family History Library does not have copies of Nevada tax records (as of June 2013).
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.
A copy or an extract of most Nevada original records can be purchased from the Nevada State Health Division or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Nevada Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.
Birth
Marriage
Over 1,031 marriages from 22 Feb 1870 to 8 Feb 1936 are listed in the Western States Marriage Index.
Death
Websites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
Places
| Alpha | Corwin | Mineral | Shoshone |
| Barth | Crescent Valley | Palisade | Tonkin |
| Beowawe | Dunphy | Primeaux | Union |
| Blackburn | Eureka | Rixies | |
| Buckhorn | Harney | Ruby Hill | |
| Cluro | Leeville | Shannon |
References
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ National Park Service, "California Trail" (map) in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/upload/CALImap1-web.pdf (accessed 2 August 2011).
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "First Transcontinental Railroad" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/First_Transcontinental_Railroad (accessed 2 August 2011).
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Central Overland Route" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Central_Overland_Route (accessed 4 August 2011).
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Eureka County, Oregon page 442, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
| ||||||||||||
</noinclude>
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 14 June 2013, at 02:15.
- This page has been accessed 1,293 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
