Evercreech with Chesterblade, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Evercreech with Chesterblade, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Evercreech with Chesterblade, Somerset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wells-Forum
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Shepton Mallet PLU
Registration District Shepton Mallet
Records begin
Parish registers: 1540
Bishop's Transcripts: 1619
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cary
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Dean of Wells
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

EVERCREECH (St. Peter) cum Chesterblade, a parish, in the union of Shepton-Mallet, hundred of Wells-Forum, E. division of Somerset, 3¾ miles (S.E. by S.) from Shepton-Mallet, containing the hamlets of Bagbury, Southwood, and Stoney-Stratton. There is a place of worship in the parish for Wesleyan Methodists.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Evercreech with Chesterblade, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS = FamilySearch - free[3]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (findmypast) - (£)[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[5]
EVERCREECH PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1629-1639, 1759-1912
1629-1639, 1754-1912
1629-1639, 1759-1873
FS 1500s
1500s

MARR
1540-1831

NBI

1629-1873

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474605.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

== Web sites ==http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/Evercreech/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date Accessed: 19 September 2013.
  2. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 16 October 2013.
  3. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Somerset, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 21 October 2013.
  4. 'Somerset Marriages', findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 29 April 2014.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:00.
  • This page has been accessed 1,332 times.