Everton St Augustine, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Everton St Augustine, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Chapelry History

EVERTON, a suburban township has seven chapelries, and a sub-district, in Walton-on-the-Hill parish, West Derby district, Lancashire. The township is suburban to Liverpool; lies within Liverpool borough, on the NE side of the town, contiguous to Kirkdale; and has a post office‡ under Liverpool, 1½ mile distant from the Liverpool head-office. It had a village older than Liverpool, situated on an eminence, commanding an extensive view over the Mersey to Wales and the Irish channel; but it takes its present character from the growth and prosperity of Liverpool; has long been a favourite residence of many merchants; and comprises numerous airy streets and numerous elegant villas. St. Augustine's church, Shaw-street, was erected in 1830. It is in the Egyptian style, having an octagonal tower with pinnacles at the angles, surmounted by a cross.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Everton St. Augustine chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Walton on the Hill to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = findmypast (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = Joiner's Marriage Index (£)
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


EVERTON ST AUGUSTINE Chapelry  (1830) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1830-1872, 1896-1910 1830-1836 None
LOPC 1830-1872, 1896-1941 1830-1896 None
LBMD None 1860-1941 None
JOIN 1830-1837
WALTON ON THE HILL ST MARY THE VIRGIN PARISH (1586) Indexes (ancient parish containing EVERTON ST AUGUSTINE Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1586-1903 1586-1918 1710-1970
LOPC 1792-1903 1791-1805, 1818-1869 1767-1812
LBMD None 1837-1977 None
FMP None 1586-1662 None
AC 1586-1746 1586-1746 1586-1746


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Everton St. Augustine and comprising the whole ancient parish of Walton on the Hill to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the WALTON ON THE HILL PARISH page.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306905.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites 

References

  1. John M. Wilson Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales published in 1870-72.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:04.
  • This page has been accessed 2,436 times.