Everton St George, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Everton St George, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Everton St George, Lancashire
St George's Church, Everton.jpg
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Derby
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union West Derby PLU
Registration District West Derby
Records begin
Parish registers: 1814; For records see Walton on the Hill [St Mary]
Bishop's Transcripts: 1814
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Liverpool North
Diocese Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

EVERTON (St George) was created a chapelry of Walton on the Hill St Mary, Lancashire Ancient Parish in 1814. The township is in the parish of Walton on-the-Hill, union and hundred of West Derby, S.division of Lancashire, 1 mile (N. N. E.) from Liverpool.The district church of St. George was erected in 1813. The building of the church was enabled by an Act of Parliament, the St. George's Church, Everton Act, which was passed in 1813.[1]

The name Everton is derived from the Saxon word eofor which meant "wild boar that lived in forests". Everton is an inner city area located just north of Liverpool city centre, with Vauxhall to the west, Kirkdale to the north and Anfield to the north east. The Liverpool entrance to the Kingsway Tunnel is located near the boundaries of this area.

Everton is an ancient settlement and like Liverpool, was one of the six un-named berewicks of West Derby. Until the late 18th century Everton was a small rural parish of Walton-on-the-Hill, but the rise in wealth of nearby Liverpool pushed wealthier merchants further afield to live. By the early 19th century however an increase in slums and demand for housing saw Everton began to be built up and in 1835, Everton became part of Liverpool.

Along with neighbouring Vauxhall, Everton traditionally housed the city's Irish, Italian and Polish immigrants. Everton was to be the original site for the building of the Metropolitan Cathedral on St.Domingo road but this was abandoned because of financial constraints. The Cathedral was eventually located in the city centre close to the southern edge of Everton.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Online Records

Everton St. George chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Walton on the Hill to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = findmypast (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = Joiner's Marriage Index (£)
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


EVERTON ST GEORGE Chapelry  (1814) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1814-1899 1814-1837 None
LOPC 1814-1902 1814-1906 1815-1932
LBMD None 1837-1939 None
JOIN None 1814-1837 None
WALTON ON THE HILL ST MARY THE VIRGIN PARISH (1586) Indexes (ancient parish containing EVERTON ST GEORGE Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1586-1903 1586-1918 1710-1970
LOPC 1792-1903 1791-1805, 1818-1869 1767-1812
LBMD None 1837-1977 None
FMP None 1586-1662 None
AC 1586-1746 1586-1746 1586-1746


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Everton and comprising the whole ancient parish of Walton on the Hill to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the WALTON ON THE HILL PARISH page.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306905.


Poor Law Unions

West Derby, Lancashire Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Bibliography

Pollard, Richard; Nikolaus Pevsner (2006), The Buildings of England: Lancashire: Liverpool and the South-West, New Haven & London: Yale University Press, pp. 417–418, ISBN 0 300 10910 5

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 191-195. Date accessed: 12 August 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:04.
  • This page has been accessed 2,459 times.