Everton with Tetworth, BedfordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Bedfordshire Gotoarrow.png Bedfordshire Parishes

Guide to Everton with Tetworth, Bedfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Everton with Tetworth, Bedfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Manshead
County Bedfordshire
Poor Law Union Woburn PLU
Registration District Woburn
Records begin
Parish registers: 1628
Bishop's Transcripts: 1602
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Fleete
Diocese Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Bedford
Location of Archive
Bedfordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

EVERTON with Tetworth or Everton (St. Mary), is a parish.  It is on the border of Huntingdonshire. The church, is in Huntingdonshire. [1] Also see A Topographical Dictionary of England.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Methodist (Bedfordshire)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241190.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Bedfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

  • Woburn

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Everton with Tetworth on GENUKI

References

  1. John Marius Wilson Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)]
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 191-195. Date accessed: Date accessed: 14 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:10.
  • This page has been accessed 914 times.