Ewhurst, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Sussex   Gotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes

Ewhurst, Sussex
Ewhurst+Green St+James East+Sussex.JPG
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Staple
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Battle PLU
Registration District Battle
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dallington
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

EWHURST (St. James), a parish, in the union of Battle, hundred of Staple, rape of Hastings, E. division of Sussex, 13 miles (S. E.) from Lamberhurst. At Staple Cross is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Ewhurst is a village and civil parish in the Rother district of East Sussex which includes the settlements at Staplecross and Cripps Corner.

Ewhurst is an Ancient parish in the Rother district of East Sussex, which is formed around the main settlement of Ewhurst Green.

The church of St James Ewhurst Green has been designated a grade I listed building British listed building

Ewhurst Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Staplecross St Mark was formed from within this parish Staplecross Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC) Staplecross St Mark Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Other places of worship include

Staplecross Wesleyan Methodist Church Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

list of places of worship in Rother Wikipedia

See also Sussex Parish churches and Ewhurst Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This parish was part of Battle Registration District from 1837.

Certificates may be obtained from

East Sussex County Council

The Register Office
Town Hall
Grove Road
Eastbourne
BN21 4UG

Phone: 01323 464780

Fax: 01323 431386

Email:eastbourne.registrar@eastsussex.gov.uk

Church records

Ewhurst, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[4]
Ewhurst, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1558-1885 (gaps)


IGI 1558-1885 1558-1881
SOPC Undefined
Undefined
Undefined

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection

Ewhurst

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464159.

Poor Law Unions

Battle Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 195-206. Date Accessed: 4 October 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 31 December 2013.
  4. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:12.
  • This page has been accessed 1,521 times.