Exeter All Hallows on the Walls, Devon GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Exeter All Hallows, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Exeter All Hallows on the Walls, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Exeter City
County Devon
Poor Law Union Exeter Incorporation
Registration District Exeter
Records begin
Parish registers: 1694
Bishop's Transcripts: 1614
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Christianity
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Exeter
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

View "A Comprehensive List of Parishes and Chapels of Exeter"


Parish History

EXETER, a city, and a county of itself, locally in the hundred of Wonford, S. division of Devon, of which it is the chief town, 44 miles (N. E.) from Plymouth. The city comprises the parishes of All Hallows Goldsmith-street, All Hallows-on-the Walls, St. Edmund, St. George, St. John, St. Kerrian, St. Lawrence, St. Martin, St. Mary-Arches, St. Mary Major, St. Mary-Steps, St. Olave, St. Pancras, St. Paul, St. Petrock, St. Stephen, and Holy Trinity, also the parochial chapelries of St. David and St. Sidwell, and the extra-parochial precincts of the Cathedral Close, Bedford, Bradninch, and Castle-yard. The parish church, All Hallows'-on-the-Walls is a new edifice, of which the internal effect is exceedingly good, was consecrated in September, 1845: the old church was destroyed nearly a century ago, being ruinous.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Exeter All Hallows on the Walls, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FMP = Devon Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
Exeter All Hallows on the Walls, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images


FMP 1694-1915 1694-1915

IGI 1614-1837
1614-1638, 1695-1699, 1785-1837 (gaps)

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Baptist

The following non-Church of England denominations were located somewhere in Exeter, but the exact parish has not been identified:

  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Countess of Huntingdon Methodist
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Jewish
  • Plymouth Brethren
  • Presbyterian
  • Roman Catholic
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • Unitarian
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241331.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Exeter All Hallows on the Walls on GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 195-206. Date Accessed 2 July 2013
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Devon Parish Records Coverage,' Findmypast, accessed 15 November 2014.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 12 February 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2015, at 01:08.
  • This page has been accessed 3,344 times.