Exeter Bedford Circus, DevonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Exeter Bedford Circus, Devon family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Exeter Bedford Circus, Devon
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Exeter City
County Devon
Poor Law Union Exeter Incorporation PLU
Registration District Exeter
Records begin
Parish registers: 1833
Bishop's Transcripts: 1827
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BEDFORD CIRCUS was one of the finest pieces of Georgian town-planning in England. The idea for Bedford Circus started with Robert Stribling, a speculative architect/builder who, in 1773, who began the construction of 14 townhouses on the site of John Russell's Bedford House, itself a remnant of a Dominican Friary which had been on the same location from the 13th century until it was dissolved in 1538 during the Reformation. A chapelry was created for the inhabitants of the circus. It came to an end beginning in the early hours of 04 May 1942 when German bombs set light to much of Exeter's historic centre.[1]

BEDFORD-CIRCUS, a precinct and chapelry, in the county of the city of Exeter, S. division of Devon.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241331.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Demolition Exeter A Century of Destruction of a Cathedral Cityonline blog Date Accessed: 2 July 2013
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Date Accessed 27 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 04:03.
  • This page has been accessed 1,681 times.