Exeter Cathedral, DevonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.pngDevon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Exeter Cathedral, Devon family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Exeter Cathedral, Devon
Exeter Cathedral, Devon.jpg
Exeter Cathedral, Devon
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Exeter City
County Devon
Poor Law Union Exeter Incorporation PLU
Registration District Exeter
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

View A Comprehensive List of Parishes and Chapels of Exeter.

Contents

Parish History

EXETER, a city, and a county of itself, locally in the hundred of Wonford, S. division of Devon, of which it is the chief town,44 miles (N. E.) from Plymouth; containing, within the municipal boundary, and exclusively of the suburban parishes of St.Thomas, St. Leonard, and Heavitree.

Previously to its establishment at Exeter, prevailed upon Edward the Confessor to remove it hither in 1049; and he placed the bishop in the new see, which he then endowed with the lands and emoluments that had previously belonged to Crediton. During the stay of the parliamentary forces, the cathedral was shamefully defaced, and divided into places of worship for Presbyterians and Independents. No burials are entered in the cathedral register from 1646 to 1660. St. Mary's chapel at the end of the choir, was the original Saxon church, and that the whole of the existing fabric was 500 years in building. To the north and south of the Lady chapel are the chapels of St. Mary Magdalene and St. Gabriel, and in various parts of the cathedral are other chapels richly adorned with sculpture, in one of which, dedicated to St. Edmund, is held the consistorial court every Friday during term. There are places of worship for Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, Wesleyans, Methodists, and Unitarians, a Roman Catholic chapel, and a synagogue.[1]

An description is found in greater detail in "A New Gazzetter of England and Wales, by John Marius Wilson:

EXETER, a city and a district in Devon, and a diocese in Devon and Cornwall. The city stands on the river Exe, 10 miles above the river's embouchure; and has railway communication in five directions, toward Exmouth, Plymouth, Barnstaple, Bristol, and London.

The Cathedral.—A Benedictine monastery was founded, on the site of the cathedral, in 932, by Athelstan. The cathedral at the translation of the see from Crediton to Exeter was made in 1049. A new cathedral was built by Bishop Warlewast, in 1112; was pillaged and burnt by Stephen, at his capture of the city; and was restored and enlarged at various times till 1206. The cathedral, was founded by Bishop Quivil in 1288, and was not completed till 1478.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Exeter Cathedral, Devon parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[5]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[6]
Exeter Cathedral, Devon Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1594-1812

IGI 1594-1837 1597-1837
PALL
1790-1812

TGEN 1594-1813
1597-1812
1593-1813

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241331.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 195-206. Date Accessed: 27 October 2013.
  2. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) Adapted: date accessed 2 July 2013
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 12 February 2014.
  5. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  6. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 26 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 05:28.
  • This page has been accessed 3,341 times.