Exhall near Coventry, WarwickshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png WarwickshireGotoarrow.png Warwickshire Parishes

Exhall near Coventry, Warwickshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Coventry
County Warwickshire
Poor Law Union Foleshill PLU
Registration District Foleshill
Records begin
Parish registers: 1540
Bishop's Transcripts: 1663
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Coventry
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield and Coventry (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1836 - Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Warwickshire County Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Exhall, is a parish in Foleshill district, Warwickshire; it is near the Coventry canal, and adjacent to the Coventry and Nuneaton railway. It is also 4¼ miles N E of Coventry. It has a station, jointly with Longford, on the railway; the post town is, Longford, under Coventry. There is a Primitive Methodist chapel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Exhall near Coventry, Warwickshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials (Ancestry) - (£).[2][3]
Exhall near Coventry, Warwickshire Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812
AC 1754-1910 1754-1910

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464187.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72). Adapted. Accessed November 19, 2013.
  2. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1535-1812,', Ancestry, accessed 13 June 2014.
  3. 'Warwickshire, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 26 August 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 October 2014, at 17:52.
  • This page has been accessed 553 times.