Exmoor, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Exmoor, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Part of this parish is in Devon. See also Exmoor, Devon.

Exmoor, Somerset
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Molton; Williton and Freemanners
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Dulverton; South Molton PLU
Registration District Barnstaple; Tiverton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1856
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Parish History

EXMOOR, an extra-parochial liberty, in the hundred of Williton and Freemanners, W. division of Somerset. Exmoor parish is primarily in the county of Somerset and partly in the county of Devon.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Church records

Online Parish Clerks

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474607.

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/Exmoor/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date Accessed: 19 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:20.
  • This page has been accessed 1,029 times.