Exton, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Exton, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Exton, Somerset
Exton Somerset St Peter.jpg
Exton Somerset St Peter
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Williton and Freemanners
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Dulverton PLU
Registration District Tiverton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1603
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dunster
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Taunton
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

EXTON (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Dulverton, hundred of Williton and Freemanners, W. division of Somerset, 4 miles (N. by E.) from Dulverton. Other places in the parish include: Bridgetown.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Exton, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[3]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (findmypast) - (£)[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[5]
WEST = West Somerset Parish Register Transcriptions - free[6]
EXTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1695-1860
1714-1860
1714-1811
JOIN
1714-1837

MARR
1558-1686, 1754-1837

NBI

1785-1811
WEST 1695-1860
1714-1860
1714-1811
Church records on microfilm

Parish registers for Exton  Microreproduction of original records housed at the Somerset Record Office, Taunton.Somerset Record Office: D/P/ext 2/1/1-7, 2/2/1

Baptisms, 1560-1863. Marriages, 1560-1901. Banns, 1794-1813, 1824-1889. Burials, 1560-1812, 1894-1896 (these last are in the register of christenings). Prior to 1734 Latin was used extensively. Early records in poor condition. FHL BRITISH Film 1526629 Items 19 - 26

Bishop's transcripts for Exton Microreproduction of original manuscripts housed at the Somerset Record Office, Taunton.Somerset Record Office: D/D/Rr 177-177a

Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1603-1640, 1662-1675, 1697, 1703-1711, 1722-1725, 1743-1836. Some other years also missing and/or in poor condition. FHL BRITISH Film 1470972 Items 7-8

Known Issue England Vital Records Index (FamilySearch Historical Records) for the Bishop's Transcripts have been found to contain Baptismal entries for Englishcombe, Somerset events due to incorrect place data entry in the older index. Exton has no Online Parish Clerk but Englishcombe, Somerset events can be searched online.

Older indexes in this collection can contain place data entry errors as there are many parishes on the microfilm of the Bishop's transcripts and researchers should be wary of indexing errors.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474607.



Poor Law Unions

Dulverton

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Tax records

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/Exton/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date Accessed: 19 September 2013.
  2. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 16 October 2013.
  3. 'Somerset Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 18 October 2013.
  4. 'Somerset Marriages', findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 29 April 2014.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  6. West Somerset Parish Register Transcriptions, accessed 21 October 2013.
  7. E 179 Database, The National Archives, http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/e179/, accessed 8 August 2013.
British Listed Building website http://www.britishlistedbuildings.co.uk/en-265436-church-of-st-peter-exton

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:59.
  • This page has been accessed 2,867 times.