Eyworth, BedfordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Eyeworth, Bedfordshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Bedfordshire Gotoarrow.png Bedfordshire Parishes

Guide to Eyworth, Bedfordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Eyworth, Bedfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Biggleswade; Toseland
County Bedfordshire
Poor Law Union St Neots PLU
Registration District Biggleswade; St Neots
Records begin
Parish registers: 1650
Bishop's Transcripts: 1604
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery St Neots
Diocese Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of Lincoln and of the Archdeacon in the Archdeaconry of Huntingdon
Location of Archive
Bedfordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

EYWORTH, is a parish in Biggleswade district, Bedfordshire; it is near the boundary of Cambridgeshire and Hertfordshire, 4 miles E by N of Biggleswade town and railway station. [1]

Also seeA Topographical Dictionary of England.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Eyworth, Bedfordshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[5]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[6]
Eyworth, Bedfordshire Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1538-1812
1538-1812
1538-1812
IGI 1538-1894 1538-1885
NBI

1538-1852
PALL
1790-1812

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241190.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Bedfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

  • St Neots

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Eyworth on GENUKI

References

  1. John Marius Wilson Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) Date accessed: 15 November 2013
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 195-206. Date accessed: 15 November 2013.
  3. 'Bedfordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 17 April 2014.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Bedfordshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 April 2014.
  5. 'National Burial Index - Bedfordshire Coverage,' FindMyPast (WayBack Machine), accessed 17 April 2014.
  6. Pallot's Marriage and Births Indexes: Guide to Parishes, n.d.; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 September 2014, at 21:51.
  • This page has been accessed 1,003 times.