Eynsford, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent   Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Eynsford, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Eynsford, Kent
Eynsford St Martin Kent.jpg
Eynsford St Martin Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Axton, Dartford and Wilmington
County Kent
Poor Law Union Dartford PLU
Registration District Dartford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1669
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Shoreham
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury in the Deaneries of Arches, Croydon and Shoreham; Post-1844 - Search the courts of surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

EYNESFORD (St. Martin), a parish, in the union of Dartford, hundred of Axton, Dartford, and Wilmington, lathe of Sutton-at-Hone, W. division of Kent, 6 miles (S.) from Dartford. There is a place of worship for Baptists. [1]


Eynsford is a village and civil parish in the Sevenoaks District of Kent.Eynsford Wikipedia

Eynsford St Martin is an Ancient parish in the Diocese of Rochester; a map of the parish boundary is available at A church near you part of Maplescombe is within the parish boundary. The civil parish includes Eynsford Castle, Lullingstone Castle and Lullingstone Roman Villa. Eynsford Castle Wikipedia Lullingstone Roman Villa Wikipedia

Crockenhill All Souls was originally formed as chapel of ease to Eynsford in 1851-1852; a map of that parish boundary is available at A church near you. See Kent Churches website

The parish church of St Martin has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See Kent Archeological Society and Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 2 (1797), pp. 527-539 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

The church of St Botolph, the church to Lullingstone Castle, has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building see Lullingstone Castle Wikipedia

Although the present Eynsford Baptist church dates from 1906, the first Baptist building in Eynsford dated from 1806 and the first Baptist preaching dates from 1775 see Eynsford Baptist website

Resources

Civil Registration

See Dartford registration District

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Eynsford, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[4][5][6]
FREG = FreeREG - free[7]
FREL = FamilyRelatives - (£)[8]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[9]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[10]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[11]
MED = Medway Ancestors - free[12]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[13]
Eynsford, Kent Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1538-1755,
1839-1846

1539-1754

BOYD
1651-1725

FMP 1538-1837
1539-1837
1541-1837
FREG 1538-1912
1539-1944
1537-2013
FREL
1539-1812

FS BTs 1813-1901 1813-1901 1813-1901
FS PRs 1538-1836 1538-1768, 1813-1837; 1768-1812 (banns) 1538-1862
IGI 1756-1836 1754-1837
PALL
1790-1812

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Eynsford Baptist Church 1799-1837 (Births) Batch (C091621)

Crockenhill All Souls parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Crockenhill All Souls Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1852-1875


FREG 1852-1871


FS BTs 1852-1903 1852-1903
IGI 1852-1875
MED 1852-1940 1853-1954

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306875.


Poor Law Unions

Dartford Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Orpington Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 195-206, Date accessed: 25 July 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'Coverage of Kent parish baptism records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  5. 'Coverage of Kent parish marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  6. 'Coverage of Kent parish burial records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  7. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  8. 'Kent Parish registers collection 1538 on Familyrelatives.com,' Family Relatives, accessed 12 March 2012. Derived from Phillimore Marriage Indexes.
  9. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  10. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.
  11. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 13 November 2013.
  12. 'Medway Ancestors Imagebase: list of parishes, in alphabetical order', Cityark, accessed 8 November 2013.
  13. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:28.
  • This page has been accessed 5,771 times.