Eythorne, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent  Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Eythorne, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Eythorne, Kent
Eythorne St Peter & St Paul Kent.jpg
Eythorne St Peter & St Paul Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Eastry
County Kent
Poor Law Union Eastry PLU
Registration District Eastry
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1560
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sandwich
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

EYTHORN (St. Peter and St. Paul), a parish, in the union and hundred of Eastry, lathe of St. Augustine, E. division of Kent, 6½ miles (N. N. W.) from Dovor. [1]


Eythorne is a village and civil parish in the Dover district of Kent, see Eythorne Wikipedia

Eythorne St Peter and St Paul is an Ancient parish; Oxney, Kent was formed as chapelry from this parish.

The church is 15th century and was restored in 1873-1874 and has been designated Grade II* listed by English Heritage British listed building.

Eythorne village is in two parts Lower Eythorne contains the parish church; Upper Eythorne is the modern settlement.

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 10 (1800), pp. 62-70 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

Eythorne Baptist Church is over 450 years old the original is referred to at the martydom of Joan Bourchier 1550. Due to complaints about loud hymn singing the chapel was relocated in 1804 to the Barfrestone Road site . The building is designated Grade II listed by English Heritage British listed building.

Eythorne Baptist Church Kent.jpg

Resources

Civil Registration

Eastry Registration District and Thanet Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Eythorne, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3][4][5][6]
Eythorne, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1559-1912 1559-1912 1559-1840; 1754-1928 (Banns) 1559-1840; 1754-1928 (Banns) 1559-1955 1559-1941

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

International Genealogical Index Eythorne Baptist Church 1723; 1736-1837 (Births) Batch (C091631)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306861.



Poor Law Unions

Eastry Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 195-206. Date accessed: 29 July 2013.
  2. 'Coverage of Kent parish burial records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 November 2013.
  4. 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  5. 'Canterbury banns coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  6. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 June 2014, at 18:23.
  • This page has been accessed 2,911 times.