Failsworth, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Failsworth, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Failsworth, Lancashire
Clock Tower and Pole, Failsworth, Oldham St John.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Prestwich PLU
Registration District Manchester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1845
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bury
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

FAILSWORTH, a township, in the parish of Manchester, hundred of Salford, S. division of the county of Lancaster, 4¼ miles (N. E. by E.) from Manchester. The village lies on the road from Manchester to Oldham; and remains of a Roman road exist. A church district was endowed in 1844 by the Ecclesiastical Commissioners. The dissenters have a place of worship in the township. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records

Online Records 

Online transcriptions exist for Failsworth St John and Holy Innocents as well as for the ancient parish of Manchester (Cathedral), Our Lady, St George and St Denys. The online data content of baptism, marriage and burial registers are located at the web sites indicated below; note the ranges of years: 

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
GENGLD = Genogold
GLUK = GenealogyLinksUK
IARC = Archives.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
FAILSWORTH HOLY TRINITY MISSION CHURCH (1870) Indexes - see also St John
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1867-1882  None None
LOPC None None None
LBMD 1837-1899 - see St John Failsworth 1870-1974 - part. 1837-1884 
  FAILSWORTH ST JOHN Chapelry (1845) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1905-1910 1909-1933 None
LOPC None None  None
LBMD 1837-1899  1847-1974 1837-1884 
FMP None None 1846-1976

MANCHESTER CATHEDRAL - OUR LADY, ST GEORGE AND ST DENYS (1573) Indexes 

 

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1573-1872 1573-1889  None
LOPC 1573-1616;1777-1837 1573-1616;1782-1836 - part. yrs 1573-1616;1792-1836 - part. yrs
LBMD 1837-1881 1837-1946 1837-1881 
AC  1573-1616 1573-1616 1573-1616


To view a full list of all the (over 150) ecclesiastical parishes, chapelries and district churches in Manchester Parish, and, to see the available links to each one, be sure to visit the MANCHESTER (CATHEDRAL) OUR LADY, ST GEORGE & ST DENYS page.

Original Records Original parish registers, 1845-1976 for the chapelry of Failsworth are located at the Manchester Central Library.

Failsworth township is in the parish of Manchester Our Lady, St George and St Denys, Lancashire
FamilySearch has the following copies of registers for St John's (none currently available for Holy Innocents):

Content
Film
Baptisms, 1845-1915
FHL BRITISH Film
1656444 Items 3-7
Baptisms, 1915-1971 Burials, 1846-1903
FHL BRITISH Film
1656445
Burials, 1903-1976 Marriages, 1847-1923
FHL BRITISH Film
1656446
Marriages, 1923-1960
FHL BRITISH Film
1656447


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438733.


Poor Law Unions

Prestwich Poor Law Union


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 206-209. Date accessed: 12 August 2013.
  2. J.P. Earwaker, Three Lancashire Subsidy Rolls, viz., for the Hundred of Salford, 1541, the Hundred of Salford, 1622 and the Hundred of Leyland, 1628, Together with a Recusant Roll for the Hundred of Leyland, in 1628 (London: Record Society of Lancashire and Cheshire, 1885). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 August 2014, at 21:18.
  • This page has been accessed 4,949 times.