Fair Oak, HampshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Fair Oak

Guide to Fair Oak, Hampshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Fair Oak, Hampshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Fawley
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union Winchester PLU
Registration District Winchester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1863; For more records see Bishopstoke
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Winchester
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of Bishopstoke; Post 1844 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester
Location of Archive
Hampshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

FAIROAK, a chapelry in Bishopstoke parish, Hants; 7 miles S of Winchester. It has a post office under Southampton.[1].

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288804.

Genealogy

Hobbs, Wendy J.  The Axford Family, Their Story So Far. Three  pictures of the family, with names, and history from John Edward Axford 1855-1934, who worked at the Ordnance Survey Dept. in Southampton.  His daughter Dorothy Maria Axford born c 1883 at Fair Oaks and who marries Sidney Clark at St. James Church, Bournemouth, 1904, The article tells the of various members of the family, from 1855-1945. Article in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol. XV, no.2, August 1988, pages 125-128, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales , 1870. Date accessed: 14 June 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 05:33.
  • This page has been accessed 1,325 times.