Fairfield County, ConnecticutEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
- This article is about a county in Connecticut. For other uses, see Fairfield (disambiguation).
United States
Connecticut
Fairfield County
Guide to Fairfield County Connecticut genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Fairfield County, Connecticut | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Connecticut | |
![]() Location of Connecticut in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | May 10, 1666 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | |
| Courthouse | |
County Courthouse
Towns Organized Before 1800:
Brookfield 1788
Danbury 1685
Fairfield 1639
Greenwich 1640
Huntington (Shelton) 1789
New Fairfield 1740
Newtown 1711
Norwalk 1651
Redding 1767
Ridgefield 1708
Stamford 1641
Trumbull 1798
Weston 1787
- There is no county government.
- The government is at the town level.
Quick Facts
- Named for the hundreds of acres of salt marsh that bordered the coast.
Parent County
- Created 10 May 1666 from the Colonial lands, one of four original counties.[1]
Boundary Changes
- North part was taken to form Litchfield County 14 October 1751.
Record Loss
- Lost census: 1890
Places / Localities
Cities:
Towns:
Extinct town: • Huntington
Borough: Newtown
Unincorporated Communities: Auburn | Bourne | Cableville | Carroll | Carson | China Town | Clarksville | Encina | Jett | Rye Valley | Sanger | Sparta | Whitney
Aspetuck | Botsford | Black Rock | Branchville | Byram | Cannondale | Compo | Cos Cob | Cranbury | East Norwalk | Georgetown | Glenbrook | Glenville | Greenfield Hill | Greens Farms | Hattertown | Hawleyville | Huntington Center | Long Ridge | Lordship | Mianus | Nichols | Old Greenwich | Riverside | Round Hill | Rowayton | Sandy Hook | Silvermine | South Norwalk | Southport | Springdale | Unity
Neighboring Counties: Litchfield | New Haven | New York Counties: Dutchess | Putnam | Suffolk | Westchester
Resources
African American
African American Civil War Memorial in Danbury, CT
Biography
- William Willard Roberts, Pioneers and patriots of Pequannock, 1639-1799, (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1983). Includes sections of old Fairfield, Stratford, and Stratfield. "This historical synopsis...makes no pretense of being complete." Pequannock now known as Bridgeport, Connecticut. Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Fiche 6019422.
- J.H. Beers & Company, Commemorative biographical record of Fairfield County, Connecticut containing biographical sketches of prominent and representative citizens, and of many of the early settled families, (Chicago, Illinois : J.H. Beers, 1899). Includes fullname index. Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1421858 Items 4-5, or FHL US/CAN Book 974.69 D3c pt.2.
Cemeteries
- Cemeteries of Fairfield Co, USGenWeb CT Archives has links to transcriptions.
- Charles R. Hale Collection of Connecticut Cemeteries and Inscriptions, Fairfield County Cemetery Records, (accessed 25 Feb 2011). This website has a collection of cemetery links, organized by town.
- Connecticut Genealogy, Fairfield County Cemetery Records, (accessed 6 Mart 2011).
- Connecticut Genealogy Trails, Cemeteries of Fairfield County, (accessed 6 Mar 2011). Alphabetical list of cemeteries, some links included.
- findagrave, Fairfield County Cemeteries, (accessed 6 Mar 2011). (466 listed)
- Interment, Fairfield County Cemetery Records, (accessed 28 Feb 2011). This site has published burial records for several Fairfield County Cemeteries.
- Lakeview Cemetery, Bridgeport BillionGraves. Google map, images with transcriptions, searchable.
- The Political Graveyard, (accessed 4 Mar 2011). Cemeteries and Memorial Sites of Politicians in Fairfield County.
- St. Michael's Cemetery, Stratford BillionGraves Images and index, Google map.
- St. Paul's Cemetery, Norwalk BillionGraves images and index, Google map.
- The Tombstone Transcription Project, (accessed 4 Mar 2011). Fairfield County, Connecticut.
- USGenWebProject, Fairfield County Cemeteries, (accessed 6 Mar 2011). This site is organized by town with links to transcriptions.
- William Applebie Daniel Eardeley, Connecticut Cemeteries 1673-1911, (Stamford, Connecticut : Stamford Genealogical Society (Connecticut), [19--]). Microfilm of typescripts. Includes indexes. Contains inscriptions from cemeteries in Fairfield, Windham, and Hartford counties, with emphasis on cemeteries of Stamford. Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 929231 Item 1.
Census
- Census Finder, Connecticut Census Records, (accessed 28 Feb 2011). Online links by county.
- Census Online, (accessed 6 Mar 2011), Fairfield County Records.
- Census Records, USGenWeb CT Archives for Fairfield County.
- Connecticut Genealogy, Fairfield County Census Records, (accessed 6 Mar 2011).
- Fairfield County Jail, 1880 Index of Prisoners, (accessed 6 Mar 2011). Prisoners Name, Prisoners Date of Birth, Prisoners Place of Birth, extracted from the 1880 Census Fairfield County, Connecticut.
- Linkpendium, Census Records and Indexes, (accessed 6 Mar 2011). Fairfield County, Connecticut.
- US Census Collection, (accessed 8 Mar 2011), FamilySearch.
- US Federal Census Collection, ancestry.com$, (accessed 6 Mar 2011).
- USGenWeb Census Project, Fairfield County, Connecticut Federal Census Index, (accessed 6 Mar 2011). Transcriptions in progress.
- Lowell M. Volkel, An index to the 1800 federal census of Fairfield and Hartford counties, state of Connecticut, ([S.l.] : L.M. Volkel, c1968). Available at the Family History Center, FHL US/CAN Book 974.6 X22v 1800.
- Calista K. Cleary, Little Egypt, Black history in three New England towns, (Manuscript,, 1989). "A research project submitted in fulfillment of the requirements for the Barton L. Weller scholarship competition." Contains inscriptions from the Wheeler-Baldwin Cemetery (Den Cemetery) in Easton; extracts from the federal census, 1790-1900, for Redding, Easton and Weston; and information about the Baldwin family. Available online PDF/Adobe Acrobat, (accessed 1 Mar 2011). Also available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.69 F2c.
For tips on accessing Fairfield County, Connecticut census records online, see: Connecticut Census.
Church Records
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.
- Church Records, USGenWeb CT Archives
- Connecticut Genealogy, Fairfield County Church Records, (accessed 6 Mar 2011). Includes baptism, marriage and death records.
- Methodist Episcopal Church. Stamford Circuit, Steward's Book, 1813-1848, (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1977). Microfilm of original records at the Connecticut State Library, Hartford. Contains minutes of quarterly meeting conferences, records of collections and disbursements, and some records of baptisms, marriages and deaths. Conferences were held in several towns of Fairfield county, Connecticut, and in Poundridge, New York. Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1013279 Item 11.
Court Records
- Court Records, USGenWeb CT Archives
- Fairfield County Connecticut Court Records Directory, (accessed 8 Mar 2011).
- Connecticut. Superior Court, Fairfield County, Divorce papers, 1720-1799, (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1990). Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1673219 Items 2-6 and 1673220.
Directories
- Connecticut City Directories, Links to each city, list year and location of directories.
- Bridgeport city directory, including Stratford, Fairfield and Southport, (New Haven [Connecticut] : Price & Lee Company, 1865-). 1909 is available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1320817 Item 2. 1930 directory, FHL US/CAN Film 1698026 Item 1. Assorted Bridgeport directories between 1895 and 1953 can be found online at ancestry.com$, (accessed 6 Mar 2011).
- Price & Lee Company, Westport, Fairfield County, Ct. city directory (including Green Farms, Saugatuck, Weston, and Wilton, (New Haven [Connecticut] : The Company, [19--]-). Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.69 E4pw.
- Stamford (Connecticut) city directories, (Woodridge, Connecticut : Research Publications, c1980-1984, 1995). Available at the Family History Library, 1st of 13 films, FHL US/CAN Film 2156524 Item 1. Films cover from 1881 to 1935. Also check Stamford, Connecticut Directories, 1887-92 at ancestry.com$, (accessed 6 Mar 2011). Also online, Stamford, Connecticut, 1907 at Old Directory Search, (accessed 6 Mar 2011).
- Norwalk (Connecticut) city directories, (Woodbridge, Connecticut : Research Publications, [199-?]). Available at the Family History Library, 1st of 13 Films, FHL US/CAN Film 2156515 Item 1. These films cover from 1882 to 1935. Also check Norwalk, Connecticut Directories, 1887-89, 1891 at ancestry.com$, (accessed 6 Mar 2011). Also online, Norwalk, Connecticut, 1925 City Directory at DistantCousin.com, (accessed 6 Mar 2011).
- Greenwich (Connecticut) city directories, (Woodbridge, Connecticut : Research Publications, [199-?]). Available at the Family History Library, 1st of 2 films, FHL US/CAN Film 2308489 Item 1-4. This films covers 1902-1909. For 1928-1935 see FHL US/CAN Film 2308490 Item 1-3.
- Port Chester (New York) city directories, ([Woodbridge, Connecticut] : Research Publications, [199-?]). Available at the Family History Library, 1910-1918 FHL US/CAN Film 2309587 Item 1-5. 1920, 1922, 1924, 1926 FHL US/CAN Film 2309588 Item 1-4. 1926 cont., 1928-29 and 1932: FHL US/CAN Film 2309589 Item 1-3.
Dwellings
- Malcolm P. Hunt, Names and places of old Norwalk with portions of Wilton, Westport and New Canaan, (Norwalk, Connecticut : Friends of Lockwood House, c1976). Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.69 E2h.
- Connecticut Daughters of the American Revolution. Norwalk Chapter, The colonial and Revolutionary homes of Wilton, Norwalk, Westport, Darien and Vicinity, (1901). Available online at Google Books, (accessed 6 Mar 2011).
Gazetteers
Fairfield County, Gazetteer, (accessed 2 Mar 2011).
Genealogy
- William John Cable and Marion D. Cable, Intermarriages of Fairfield, Connecticut, pioneer families of "The Den", South Walton and its vicinity, Delaware County, New York, (Sidney, New York : W. J. and M. D.Cable, [c1997]). Includes index: cross-references to surnames. Errata and addenda sheet tipped in. Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN 974 D2cw.
- Elmer I. Shepard, Elmer I. Shepard Collection Connecticut and Vermont family group records, ca. 1550-1900, (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1990). Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1684312 Items 12-19.
- Walter E. Corbin, Lottie S. Corbin, and Robert J. Dunkle, The Corbin Collection, (Boston, Massachusetts : New England Historic Genealogical Society, c2003-c2005). Available at the on the desktop at the Family History Library, FHL Computer US/CAN Desktop CD-ROM no. 2644 v. 1-3.
Genealogical Sources
- Stamford Genealogical Society, Genealogical resources of southwestern Fairfield County, Connecticut in the towns and cities of Darien, Greenwich, New Canaan, Norwalk, Stamford, Wilton, (Stamford, Connecticut : Stamford Genealogical Society (Connecticut), 1959). Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.69 D2s.
History
- [Book] History of Black Rock, 1644-1955 - digitized and freely available online
- Connecticut Genealogy, Fairfield County Historical Records, (accessed 6 Mar 2011).
- History, USGenWeb CT Archives
- Linkpendium, History, Fairfield County, Connecticut, (accessed 7 Mar 2011).
- Lynn Winfield, Wilson, History of Fairfield County, Connecticut, 1639-1928, Vol. 1, (Chicago-Hartford:The S.J. Clarke Publishing Co., 1929). Includes indexes. Available online at FamilySearch Books Online; Also available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.69 D2w v. 2 and v. 3 or FHL US/CAN Fiche 6050167-6050169 for Volume 1-3 (total of 25 fiche).
- Duane Hamilton Hurd, History of Fairfield County, Connecticut with illustrations and biographical sketches of its prominent men and pioneers, (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 1881). Includes index to biographical sketches. Available online at Internet Libraries, (accessed 28 Feb 2011). Also available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.69 H2h, or FHL US/CAN Film 1000148 Item 2.
- Mrs. Elizabeth Hubbell Schenk, The History of Fairfield, Fairfield County, Connecticut from 1700-1800, Vol. II, (New York, New York, 1905). Includes index. Available online at Internet Archives, (accessed 28 Feb 2011). The History of Fairfield, Fairfield County, Connecticut from 1639-1818, Volume 1 and 2, also available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.69/F1 H2s v. 1 and v. 2 or FHL US/CAN Film 1035766 Items 6 - 7.
- Google Timeline, Fairfield County, Connecticut History 1600-2011, (accessed 2 Mar 2011).
- Samuel Richards Weed and Norwalk Historical and Memorial Library Association, Norwalk after two hundred & fifty years, an account of the celebration of the 250th anniversary of the charter of the town, 1651--September 11th--1901; including historical sketches of churches, schools, old homes, institutions, eminent men, patriotic and benevolent work, together with the record of soldiers and sailors enlisted in Norwalk from 1676 to 1898. The civic progress in the last century and statistics of commerce and other miscellany of local interest (1902), (South Norwalk, Connecticut: C.A. Freeman) Available online at Google Books, (access 6 Mar 2011).
Land and Property
Deeds, mortgages, releases, and other related documents were recorded by the town clerk and are at the town halls. Most are indexed by grantor and grantee. There is no statewide index.
The Family History Library and the Connecticut State Library have microfilm copies of many proprietors' and town records from the earliest years to the mid or late 1800s. Some are as recent as the 1900s. They are listed in the Family History Library Catalog under the name of the town.
- Connecticut Genealogy, Fairfield County Land Records, (accessed 6 Mar 2011). Early land records for Greenwich and Norwalk.
- Deeds and Land Records, USGenWeb CT Archives
- John W. Tyler, Connecticut Loyalists an analysis of Loyalist land confiscations in Greenwich, Stamford and Norwalk, (New Orleans, Louisiana : Polyanthos, c1977). Includes bibliographical references. Includes index of personal names. Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.69 R2t.
- Tinmouth (Vermont). Proprietors' Clerk, Proprietors records, 1761-1809, (Montpelier, Vermont : Vermont Public Records Division, 1973). Microfilm of original records filmed at Tinmouth, Vermont. Contains deeds and land surveys. Also includes land records from various counties in Connecticut. Includes charter book which contains a copy of the 1761 Tinmouth charter and minutes of proprietors meetings. Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN 944196 Item 4 and 6.
Maps
- Linkpendium, Maps and Gazetteers, Fairfield County, (accessed 7 Mar 2011).
- Library of Congress. Geography and Map Division, Fairfield County, Connecticut land ownership maps, 1856 and 1858, (Washington, District of Columbia : Library of Congress, 1983). Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Fiche 6079295-6079296.
- Hagstrom Company, Hagstrom atlas of Fairfield County, (New York, New York : The Company, c1978). Gift of Anna Baker, 1988. Includes index to streets and roads. Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.69 E7h.
- Department of Economic and Community Development, Connecticut Maps, (accessed 2 Mar 2011). Organized by State and County. Links to road maps, county outlines, colored outlines and lists of towns.
Military Records
- Connecticut Genealogy, Fairfield County Military Records, (accessed 6 Mar 2011).
Revolution 1775-1783
- Elsie N. Danenberg, Naval history of Fairfield County men in the Revolution a tale untold, (Fairfield, Connecticut : Fairfield Historical Society, c1977). Includes index. Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.69 M2d, or FHL US/CAN Fiche 6067450.
- Herbert F. Geller and Anita F. Lupariello, A fight for liberty southwestern Connecticut's role in the American Revolution, (Bridgeport, Connecticut : Post Publishing Company, 1976). Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.69 H2g, or FHL US/CAN Fiche 6110582.
Civil War
Service men from Fairfield County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were formed by a large number of men from Fairfield County.
- 1st Regiment, Connecticut Heavy Artillery - Company M - (Bridgeport)
- 1st Regiment, Connecticut Cavalry - Company D
- 1st Regiment, Connecticut Infantry - Infantry Company E and H. Rifle Company B
- 3rd Regiment, Connecticut Infantry - Infantry Company A, C, D and Rifle Company F.
- 9th Regiment, Connecticut Infantry - Company D
- 10th Regiment, Connecticut Infantry - Company I
- 14th Regiment, Connecticut Infantry - Company A
- 17th Regiment, Connecticut Infantry - Company A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I and K.
- 23rd Regiment, Connecticut Infantry - Company B, D, E, I and K.
- 28th Regiment, Connecticut Infantry - Company A, B, C, G, and H.
- Civl War Research Database $
- Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System
- Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War - Grave Database
- World War I Draft Registration Cards, 1917-1918 $
- U. S. World War II Army Enlistment Records, 1938-1946 $
- U. S. World War II Draft Registration Cards, 1942 $
- United States, World War II Draft Registration Cards, 1942 Collection Description: Images of cards for men, age 45-64 (born 1877-1897), included in the fourth draft conducted on Arpil 27, 1942.
Names, Geographical
- Malcolm P. Hunt, Names and places of old Norwalk with portions of Wilton, Westport and New Canaan, (Norwalk, Connecticut : Friends of Lockwood House, c1976). Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Book 974.69 E2h.
Naturalization and Citizenship
- Connecticut. Court of Common Pleas and Superior Court, Naturalization records (Fairfield County, Connecticut) [National Archives and Records Administration Record Group (RG) 200, RG 21], (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2003-2007). Includes indexes. Available at the Family History Library, the first of 155 films, FHL US/CAN Film 2368899.
Newspapers
- Connecticut Genealogy, Fairfield County Newspapers, (accessed 6 Mar 2011). Links to newspapers at Genealogy Bank$ and Ancestry$.
- Fairfield County Newspaper List, (accessed 28 Feb 2011).
- Linkpendium, Newspaper Records, Fairfield County, (accessed 7 Mar 2011).
Obituaries
- Fairfield County, Connecticut Obituaries, (accessed 1 Mar 2011). A directory of obituary databases and archives on the internet.
- Linkpendium, Obituaries and Funeral Homes, Fairfield County, (accessed 7 Mar 2011).
- Obituaries, USGenWeb CT Archives
- Lester Card, Marriages and deaths (not taken from cemetery or tombstone records), 1790-1855, Fairfield County, Connecticut, (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1941). Microfilm of typescript (250 p. made in 1934) at the New York Genealogical and Biographical Society in New York City, New York. Death information was taken from Norwalk Gazette. Includes index. Some pages wanting. Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 1405480 Items 2-3.
Probate Records
- Connecticut State Library, Research Guide to Connecticut Probate Districts, (accessed 28 Feb 2011).
- Fairfield County Probate Records, Connecticut Genealogy, (accessed 6 Mar 2011). Online abstracts.
- Spencer P. Mead, Abstract of probate records at Fairfield, County of Fairfield, and state of Connecticut, 1648-1757, (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1941). Includes indexes. Until 1728 Fairfield probate district included all Fairfield County. Available at the Family History Library, FHL US/CAN Film 929230.
Taxation
Vital Records
- 1746-1791 - Eardeley-Thomas, Wm. A. "Record of Marriages By Ephraim Hubbell, Justice of the Peace in the North Society of New Fairfield, at the Time of All the Following Marriages, But Now the Town of Sherman, Conn.," The New York Genealogical and Biographical Record, Vol. 39, No. 3 (Jul. 1908):213-217. Digital versions at Internet Archive - free; New York Family History ($); FHL Book 974.7 B2n v. 39.
- Vital Records, USGenWeb CT Archives
- Census Finder, Connecticut Vital Records, (accessed 28 Feb 2011). Records online by county.
- Connecticut Genealogy, Fairfield County Vital Records, (accessed 6 Mar 2011).
- Linkpendium, Vital Records, Fairfield County, (accessed 7 Mar 2011).
Wills
- Transcriptions of Wills, USGenWeb CT Archives
Societies, Libraries and Museums
- Fairfield Public Library, (accessed 28 Feb 2011).
- Fairfield County Public Libraries, (accessed 1 Mar 2011). This site lists the addresses and websites of the public libraries in Fairfield county.
- Linkpendium, Libraries, Museums and Archives, (accessed 7 Mar 2011), Fairfield County.
- USGenWeb Connecticut Archives, Fairfield County, (accessed 1 Mar 2011.)
- Fairfield Museum and History Center, (accessed 28 Feb 2011).
- Fairfield County Historical Societies, (accessed 28 Feb 2011).
- Connecticut Society of Genealogists, (accessed 28 Feb 2011).
- Linkpendium, Libraries, Museums and Archives, (accessed 7 Mar 2011), and Societies, (accessed 7 Mar 2011), Fairfield County.
Family History Centers
- Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
- New Canaan Connecticut Family History Center
- New Canaan, Connecticut
- Newtown Connecticut Family History Center
- Newtown, Connecticut
Web Sites
- ancestry.com$, (accessed 28 Feb 2011). Available databases for Fairfield County.
- Connecticut Genealogy, Fairfield Countywide Sources, (accessed 1 Mar 2011).
- Cyndi's List, (accessed 28 Feb 2011). Fairfield County General Resource Sites
- epodunk, (accessed 28 Feb 2011). Fairfield County, Connecticut Ancestry and Family History
- The Fairfield County CTGenWeb Project, an member of The CTGenWeb Project
- FamilyHistory101.com, (accessed 28 Feb 2011). Fairfield County, Connecticut History, Records, Facts, Genealogy and Ancestry
- Linkpendium, (accessed 28 Feb 2011). Fairfield County Genealogy and Famiy History
- MyGenealogist.com, (accessed 28 Feb 2011). Fairfield County, Connecticut Genealogy Resources. Our expert research team has put together some helpful links and resources to help you get started with your project. Many of the Fairfield County resources listed on this page are often used by our genealogists to locate important records like birth certificates, obituaries, court records, marriage certificates, land deeds, and family histories.
- USGennet, (accessed 28 Feb 2011), provides genealogical research links for the county of Fairfield, Connecticut.
- The USGenWeb Archives Project
- Web Sites at RootsWeb for Fairfield County, (accessed 4 Mar 2011).
- FamilySearch.org Family History Library catalog for Fairfield County
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 19 April 2013, at 00:46.
- This page has been accessed 5,810 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More



