Fairford, GloucestershireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Fairford, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Fairford, Gloucestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Brightwells-Barrow
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Cirencester PLU
Registration District Cirencester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1617
Bishop's Transcripts: 1612
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Fairford
Diocese Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

FAIRFORD (Virgin Mary), a market-town and parish, in the union of Cirencester, hundred of Brightwell's-Barrow, E. division of the county of Gloucester, 24 miles (S. E. by E.) from Gloucester, and 80 (W. by N.) from London. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Fairford, Gloucestershire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FHSO = FHSOnline - (£)[3]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[5]
Fairford, Gloucestershire Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1619-1837

FHSO 1800-1837
JOIN
1619-1837

PALL
1790-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288765.

Genealogy

Albery, Alan. The Unreturning Prodigal: George Venn Wakeford. George Venn Wakeford, born 1799, one of Nathaniel and Jenny Wakeford's six children, whe went to Brazil in 1823. Mention made of Fairford, Gloucestershire.  The author found letters written by George in amongst papers relation to Oakley Hall Estate, between Oakley and Dean 6 miles west of Basingstoke. George changed his surname to Wilson, while in Brazil. Article tells of family history of Wakefords and part of George's life. Article dating from 1767-1976.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 206-209. Date accessed: 03 December 2012.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Coverage for the Gloucestershire Marriages database,' FHS Online, accessed 5 May 2014.
  4. 'Somerset Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 18 October 2013.
  5. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:36.
  • This page has been accessed 1,281 times.