Fairlight, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Sussex   Gotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes

Contents

Parish History

FAIRLIGHT (St. Andrew), a parish, in the hundred of Guestling, union and rape of Hastings, E. division of Sussex, 3 miles (E. N. E.) from Hastings.[1]


Fairlight St Andrew is an Ancient Parish in the Rother District of East Sussex.

The church of St Andrew is designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

history and images

Fairlight Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

See also Fairlight Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Fairlight, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
Fairlight, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
NBI

1766-2002

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records.

Link to the Family History Library Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Fairlight

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464157.


The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.


Poor Law Unions

Hastings Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 206-209. Date Accessed: 4 October 2013
  2. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 30 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 April 2014, at 03:51.
  • This page has been accessed 591 times.