Falmouth, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Parishes

Guide to Falmouth, Cornwall family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Falmouth, Cornwall
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Kerrier; West
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Falmouth PLU
Registration District Falmouth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1663
Bishop's Transcripts: 1663
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Kerrier
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court A Peculiar of the Court of the Bishop of Exeter (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

FALMOUTH (King Charles the Martyr), a parish, and the head of a union, in the E. division of the hundred of Kerrier, W. division of Cornwall; comprising the sea-port and incorporated market-town of Falmouth, which possesses exclusive jurisdiction, 54 miles (S. W.) from Launceston, and 267 (W. S. W.) from London. There are places of worship for Baptists, Bryanites, the Society of Friends, Independents, Primitive and Wesleyan Methodists, and Unitarians.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Falmouth King Charles the Martyr parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[4][5][6]
FREG = FreeREG - free[7]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[8]
HATHI = Hathi Trust Digital Library - free[9]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[10]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[11]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[12]
Falmouth King Charles the Martyr Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1663-1812

COPC 1890-1913
1813-1837
1664-1846, 1880-1909
FMP 1600-1839 1665-1837 1690-1837
FREG 1663-1839
1663-1837
1664-1846
FS PRs 1663-1839, 1890-1902 1663-1837, 1899-1907 1664-1846, 1880-1988
HATHI 1663-1812 1663-1812 1663-1812
IGI 1663-1839 1664-1837
PALL
1790-1812

TGEN 1695-1837


Falmouth All Saints parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Falmouth All Saints Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
COPC

1924-1927
FMP 1890-1895
FREG 1890-1902
1899-1907
1880-1955

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

The Falmouth King Charles the Martyr and Falmouth All Saints section of the OPC website contains many records.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241260.

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the artilce to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

  • 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
  • Vision of Britain

Websites

Falmouth in GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 209-213. Date accessed: 13 March 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  4. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  5. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  6. 'Cornwall Burials', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  7. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  8. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.
  9. Susan Elizabeth Gay and Mrs. Howard Fox, eds., The Register of Baptisms, Marriages and Burials of the Parish of Falmouth in the County of Cornwall, 1663-1812. 2 vols. (Exeter: The Devon and Cornwall Record Society, 1915). Digitised by Hathi Trust - free.
  10. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 22 November 2013.
  11. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  12. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 22 May 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 August 2014, at 19:50.
  • This page has been accessed 1,098 times.