Falstone, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Falstone, Northumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Falstone, Northumberland
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Tindale
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Bellingham PLU
Registration District Bellingham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1742
Bishop's Transcripts: 1770
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bellingham
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

FALSTONE, a parish in the union of Bellingham, N. W. division of Tindale ward, S. division of Northumberland, 9½ miles (W. N. W.) from Bellingham, and 25½ (N. W. by N.) from Hexham with the townships of Plawskets and Wellhaugh, There is a place of worship for Presbyterians.[1]

Additional information:

St Peter Falstone is a Parish in the county of Northumberland, created in 1811 from chapelry in Simonburn Ancient Parish and include: Plashetts, Plashetts and Tynehead, Plasket and Tynehead, Plawskets, Tynehead, and Wellhaugh.

This is high forest and moorland adjoining the Scottish border and Roxburghshire. Today it is home to Kielder Forest and a large catchment area for Kielder reervoir one of the major water supplies to the North east of England.

The church of St. Peter is a small edifice of stone, in the Perpendicular style, consisting of chancel, nave, vestry, organchamber, south porch and an embattled western tower containing one bell: a new font presented by Miss Picton, sister of the rector, is a memorial to his sone, d. June, 1888: there is a stained window, erected in 1889 by Thomas Spencer esq. of Ryton, to commemorate his wife: the church was restored in 1879, when it was new roofed, reseated and the vestry and organ chamber added, at a cost of £600: there are 60 sittings. The register dates from the year 1742. During some excavations in the churchyard in 1885 a portion of a Saxon cross, bearing an inscription, was found. The living is a rectory, average tithe rent-charge £191, net yearly value £300, including 14 acres of glebe, with residence, in the gift of the Commissioners of Greenwich Hospital and held since 1880 by the Rev. Robert Picton B.A. of Trinity College, Dublin. [Kelly's Durham and Northumberland Directory (1890), p.765.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/105 Date: 1770-1856
Related material at DULASC: A transcript for 1777 survives with the visitation papers for Falstone, reference DDR/EV/VIS/5/1778/9/14. Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySarch Historical Records.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Falstone, St Peter: Records of baptisms 1742-1984, marriages 1747-1958 and burials 1750-1929 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1743-1875 and marriages 1748-1877 for this parish, but it is not included in Boyd's Marriage Index.

Nonconformist Records.

  •  Falstone (Presbyterian): Records of births/baptisms 1752-1978 are available at Northumberland Collections Service.
  • A transcript of monumental inscriptions at Falstone, Falstone Presbyterian and Kielder Presbyterian (microfiche TN84) is published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society and these records are also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Department.
  • Early Wesleyan Methodist chapels in this area belonged to Alston W.M. Circuit. Records for 1810-1951 can be seen at Cumbria Record Office in Carlisle.

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438894.

Poor Law Unions

Bellingham Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed: 06 August 2013
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:25.
  • This page has been accessed 941 times.