FamilySearch Wiki:WikiProject English parishesEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

This is a child WikiProject of WikiProject England with a focus on improving the articles about the many hundreds of English parishes.

Christ Church West Bromwich Staffordshire.jpg

Contents

Scope

Articles about English parishes. As WikiProjects for different English counties are created this project will work in conjunction with those projects on parish articles for each specific county.

Meetings

A Project Meeting is held every Wednesday afternoon at 2 p.m. MST.  Everyone is invited.  If you would like to work on the project, but aren't sure where to start, this is a good place to learn more about what is going on. 

  • Join the meeting here
  • The meeting number is 994 670 621
  • There is no password required
  • The system will call you, but should you need to dial in, the phone number is 1-855-537-4000 (U.S. Toll-Free)


For more information or questions, please contact the Project Coordinator, Jane Colmenares evancol@yahoo.com Evancol 15:07, 30 January 2014 (UTC)

Contributors

Userbox for WikiProject English parishes
Christ Church West Bromwich Staffordshire.jpg This user is a participant in WikiProject English parishes. Flag of England.png
  • Steve
  • Nathan - I am working on developing coverage charts for parish registers available online.
  • User:DowneOPC working on deposited records at Bromley Archives, Kent as part of Kent Online Parish Clerks
  • Phil - I work on adding parish descriptions to pages and led the Lancashire project

Tasks

Main article: FamilySearch Wiki:WikiProject England/Tasks


Alter contributor prompts

Parish History

This section should be written using multiple sources.
Add a general overview of the history of this parish. It can be a few sentences or a couple of paragraphs. If it is a few sentences put the expansion box in this section to encourage a more lengthy history.


The aim of the parish history section should be to explain the ecclesiastical and civil parish history of the place and subsequent administrative and boundary changes. It should also reflect parish creations from an original Ancient Parish and identify how 19th and twentieth century population growth altered the approach to meeting the spirtual needs of parishioners. Links to Wikipedia projects for churches and places of worship in some English counties are a valuable resource (often illustrated and with geo map co-ordinates to locate the sites) In many counties images and other information can also be found and linked.

The aim should be to cater for an international beginner readership as well as the experienced researcher. It is also useful to locate other faiths within a Church of England parish boundary. The Church records section on the page can then develop description of the archive holding the deposited records or indicate if the records are still held in the parish by the incumbent

Resources section

A link to Family History Library catalogue may fit well in this section.

Section Headings

Add section headings as needed and subheadings; Add any section heading for material you want to add or use existing headings. Ideas for Topic Headings

  • Civil Registration
  • Church History - Example: Identify redundant churches and link to the Churches Conservation Trust site or identify if the deconsecrated building is now in use as a private residential dwelling, commercial premises or conserved.
  • Church Records - Example: Genealogical Society of Utah microfilm or digital images may represent only a small part of record sources held in archives in various locations. If possible an indication of the arrangement of original surviving records and condition can be offered. Downe, Kent offers such descriptions.
    • Nonconformist Records
  • Census Records
    • Statistical Census Data
  • History
    • Nineteenth Century
    • Twentieth century
  • Probate Records
  • Maps & Gazetteers
  • Websites

Census records

While developing a parish page you have the option of using a template. You may want to just use the text found in the template. If your not familiar with the parameters of a template you may want to avoid using them. Feel free to replace a template with text.

Include in this Section - Include an overview if there is any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed. Add a link to online sites for indexes and/or images or a wiki article with those links. Add a subject link to the Family History Library Catalog. Add a link to a wiki census article.

Census Templates
  • Template:British Census - {{British Census|241191}}
    • Parameters - census film number
  • Template:British Census2 - {{British Census2| Brampton, Cumberland, Census|census= Brampton Census|2=Brampton| countycensuspage= Cumberland Census}}
    • Parameters - Parish name; census subject; internal link
  • Template:Suffolk Census - {{Suffolk Census| Laxfield, England, Census|census=Laxfield census film numbers|1=Laxfield Census|2=Laxfield| countycensuspage= Suffolk Census}}
    • Parameters - see template

Maps and Gazetteers

Add links to the various county and national directories; Notable gazetteers should be listed in the 'Maps and Gazetteer' section and could include a brief extract of the entry.

Church Records

This section requires expansion with: Information about parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, parish chest records, non conformist and other types of church records. Also add links to online parish collections. Make reference to records found in the FHLC.

Standard key to England parish register website abbreviations:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[1]
BMD = BMDRegisters.co.uk (£)
BO = BritishOrigins.com (£)
CHES = Cheshire Parish Register Project
COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks
CUMB = Cumberland Roots
DOPC = Dorset Online Parish Clerks
DURH = Durham Records Online (£)
DVPC = Devon Online Parish Clerks
EOPC = Essex Online Parish Clerks
ESX = Essex Archives Online (£)
FAMR = FamilyRelatives.com (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FRST = Forest of Dean Family History
FS = FamilySearch.org
FSB = FamilySearch Books
GENGLD = Genogold.co.uk
GLUK = GenealogyLinksUK
GOOG = Google Books
HALS = Hertfordshire Names Online
HATH = Hathi Trust Digital Library
HOPC = Hampshire Online Parish Clerks
IARC = Internet Archive
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
JOIN = Joiner's Marriage Index (£)
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
KOPC = Kent Online Parish Clerks
LCPC = Leicestershire Online Parish Clerks
LINC = Lincs to the Past
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk Project
MED = Medway Ancestors
NHANT = Northants Strays
NOR = Norfolk Transcription Archive
PR = ParishRegister.com (£)
PRTS = Parish Register Transcription Society (£)
SFH = Somerset Family History
SOPC = Somerset Online Parish Clerks
SXPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks
TGEN = TheGenealogist.co.uk (£)
TODWLS = Todmorden and Walsden Website
UKGA = UK Genealogy Archives
WEAL = The Weald of Kent, Surrey and Sussex
WLPC = Wiltshire Online Parish Clerks
WOPC = Warwickshire Online Parish Clerks
WSOM = West Somerset Parish Register Transcriptions

Parish Register Coverage Table

Example parish register coverage table:

ALDINGHAM PARISH (1539) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1542-1695
1542-1695
1542-1695
FMP

1542-1837


IGI 1561-1756
1539-1754


LOPC 1638-1877
1638-1848
1638-1877
1851 Census Places of Worship

Templates

Images being uploaded

Infoboxes

Categories

References

  1. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 10 January 2014.
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hertford, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 11 December 2013.
  • This page was last modified on 22 March 2014, at 18:39.
  • This page has been accessed 4,674 times.