FamilySearch Wiki:WikiProject Wales Parish TemplateEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki


WalesGotoarrow.png{name of parish}

{name of parish} is one of many Glamorgan Parishes.

Place names in Wales may be written in the Welsh Language. Welsh or other variants of the name of this parish include Contributor: insert Welsh name and alternative spellings for the parish name.


Contents

History

Contributor: add a general overview of the history of this parish. It can be a few sentences or a couple of paragraphs. If more, consider creating a separate page and linking to it from here.

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Several Internet sites list names or indexes to the records, including:

Church records

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection

Census Records

Census which list individuals' names for the entire country was started in 1841 and continued every ten years. The most recent census available to the public is 1911. Learn more about these records by reading the census article.

Contributor: Include an overview if there is any unique information, such as the census for X year is missing. Add a link to online sites for indexes and/or images. Also add a link to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.

Probate Records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Glamorgan Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in Wales. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place. Here is a link to a web site with gazetteers and maps.

Click here to see a list of communities in {name of parish}.

Websites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

  • This page was last modified on 24 September 2014, at 01:35.
  • This page has been accessed 1,212 times.