Family History Library Computer ResourcesEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Family History Library < Family History Library Computer Resources

The Family History Library has over 450 computers available for patron use. Patron computers are located on each floor. Each patron computer is equipped with high speed Internet access. Our computers also have a USB port accessible from the front of the machine. For more information on USB drives, go to Step-by-Step Using a USB U3 Flash keyStep-by-Step Using a USB U3 Flash key. 3.5 inch floppy drives are also available on some computers along with CD Write drives.

Each patron computer has PAF and TempleReady. These computers do not have other family tree software such as Legacy or Roots Magic. Family Tree Maker is only available on the machines that are marked for CD-ROM use only.

Personal laptops are welcome at the Family History Library. Electrical outlets are located at each microfilm reader and at many patron tables. Wireless Internet is available.  All of the Subscription Websites (see below) are accessible through this wireless network as though you are on one of the patron machines, as long as you are in the Library of course.

Subscription Websites at the Family History Library

19th Century British Library Newspapers: This is a great database of British newspapers that have birth, marriage, and death information not found on familysearch.org or ancestry.com. It is useful if you have ancestors that lived in England.

19th Century US Newspapers: This is a great database of US newspapers that have birth, marriage, and death information not found on familysearch.org or ancestry.com. It is useful if you have ancestors that lived in the United States.

America - History and Life: This is a database of US Books, Academic Journals, Newspapers, and Magazines that can contain information about your ancestors that cannot be found on familysearch.org or ancestry.com. It is somewhat useful if you have ancestors that lived in the United States.

FindMyPast.com: This is for mainly British and other UK records. This website has many more Birth, Marriage, and Death Records which familysearch.org or ancestry.com do not have. They also have better indexers than ancestry.com. Ancestry has a lot of indexing errors because they outsource to India for indexers. FindMyPast.com does not do this and have fewer errors in their indexing. FindMyPast.com also has the full 1911 UK census which ancestry does not have. The only downside to FindMyPast.com is that the original images are of lower quality than ancestry. This site is extremely useful if you have any ancestors from England or other UK areas.

Fold3.com: This site mostly has records from the US. One thing that sets this site apart from many of its others is the ability for users to contribute even more information. As the name of this web site suggests, site members may annotate, or "footnote," existing web pages or even create their own web pages about history-related material. The material contributed can include text, pictures, or even video. If you have original source images of your own that you want to share with friends and family, simply upload them to Footnote and use the site's tools to make your information searchable and available to others. It is useful if you have ancestors that lived in the United States.

Genline.com: This site is mainly for Swedish genealogy. It is the leading Swedish genealogical website. It has over 26 million pages of family history records from the 16th to the 20th century. It is very useful for people with Swedish ancestry.

Godfrey Memorial Library: This site is mainly for US research and has some UK records but not much. You can search a database of newspapers, diaries, letters, and oral histories.. This site is not very easy to navigate though.

Heritage Quest Online: This site is for US and Canada research. You can search family history books, revolutionary war records, census records, and more, some of which cannot be found on familysearch.org or ancestry.com. It is helpful if your ancestors lived in the United States or Canada.

Historic Map Works: This site is a huge collection of maps consisting of over 100,000 cadastral, land ownership maps detailing the geographic and development history of the United States over several hundred years. There have rural and suburban areas, as well as cities and towns across America. There is also over 100,000 pages of illustrations from the present day and over 1,000 city directories related to the maps. They also have almost 100,000 maps from other parts of the world. This site is not very helpful for genealogical research.

Historical Abstracts: This site covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. This site also has more than 2,300 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. This site is not very helpful for genealogical research.
Images of the American Civil War: This site has thousands of images from the civil war that aren’t available on familysearch.org or ancestry.com. This site is useful if you have ancestors who served in the civil war.

JSTOR: This site is a collection of academic journals with letters and images corresponding to them. This site is not very helpful for genealogical research.

NewEnglandAncestors.org: This site is for US research, specifically New England research from the Mayflower onward. It is the website of the New England Historical Genealogical society. It has many records and databases that can only be found on this website. One of the most popular of these databases is The New England Historical and Genealogical Register. It is the flagship journal of American genealogy and the oldest in the field. A huge variety of genealogies and source material have been published in the Register for over 160 years, with an emphasis on New England. Authoritative compiled genealogies have always been a primary focus of the Register. It is very useful if you have ancestors that lived in the early American colonies or from New England.

One Great Family: This is a site with the goal of creating one giant family tree. It is basically like OneWorldTree on ancestry.com. Just like OneWorldTree, you must be careful because since it is all submitted information there is information that is wrong. Check for listed sources to confirm if information is correct or not.

Original Sources: This site is a collection of only original sources relating to World and US history, science, math, law, politics, philosophy, religion, literature, language, and social sciences. This site is not very helpful for genealogical research.

Origins Network: This site has British, Irish, and Scottish records all the way back to the 13th century. It contains many records that is not available on familysearch.org or ancestry.com. It is very useful if you have ancestors from the UK.

Paper Trail: This site is dedicated to research of pioneers. It has journals, histories, of pioneers headed west from 1800 to 1899. It is very useful if you have ancestors who crossed the plains whether they were Mormon Pioneers or not.

ProQuest Obituary Listings: This site is primarily for US research. This site more than 10 million obituaries and death notices published in newspapers from 1800 onward. It is very useful in finding death dates of your ancestors.

SVAR: This site is strictly for research in Sweden. You also need to click the link and the top right hand corner to view the site in English. This website is the National Archives of Sweden. It has access to Birth records, Marriage records, Death records, Census records from the 1800s onward. It is very useful if you have ancestors from Sweden.

The American Civil War Research Database: This site doesn’t seem to have anything that ancestry.com doesn’t have. It is not much help if you have already searched the Civil War records on ancestry.com.

The American Civil War - Letters and Diaries: This site has letters, diaries, and memoirs from the civil war which can’t be found on any other site. It is very useful and sometimes you are able to find letters or diaries from your Civil War Veteran ancestors wrote.

The Genealogist: This website is primarily for UK genealogy. It has many databases unique to this site including Birth, Marriage, and Death records from 1609, parish records, military records, rolls of honour, wills, poll books, and more. This site is extremely useful if you have any ancestors from England or other UK areas.

The Times (London): This is a digital archive of the London Times newspaper from 1785-1985. This newspaper contains birth, marriage, and death notices from all over England. This site is extremely useful if you have any ancestors from England.

World Vital Records: This site contains records from all over the world. It has a few records that cannot be found anywhere else but most of its records are on ancestry.com. It is somewhat useful for genealogy.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 August 2013, at 15:14.
  • This page has been accessed 3,846 times.