Fannin County, TexasEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Texas
Counties F
Fannin County
Guide to Fannin County Texas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Fannin County, Texas | |||||||||
| Map | |||||||||
![]() Location in the state of Texas | |||||||||
![]() Location of Texas in the U.S. | |||||||||
| Facts | |||||||||
| Founded | December 14, 1837 | ||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Bonham | ||||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||||
| |||||||||
Contents |
County Courthouse
Fannin County Courthouse
101 Sam Rayburn Drive
Bonham, TX 75418
Phone: 903.583.7486
County Clerk has birth records from 1903 with a few 1874-1876,
death records from 1903, marriage records from 1852, probate,
land and court records from 1838[1]
History
The first permanent settlement was at Tulip in 1836.
Parent County
1837--Fannin County was created 14 December 1837 from Red River County. County seat: Bonham [2]
Boundary Changes
See an interactive map of Fannin County border changes. The county borders have not changed since 1846.
Record Loss
1929 -- Courthouse caught fire on December 31, 1929. Records in the District Clerk's office and County Clerk's office were saved. Many other county records were destroyed. The courthouse was rebuilt.[3]
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
African American
- Texas African American Griots ~ USGenWeb
- AfriGeneas ~ African Ancestored Genealogy
- Texas African American Genealogy ~ Access Genealogy
Cemeteries
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
| Online Grave Transcripts | Published Grave Transcripts | County Cemetery Directories |
| Family History Library | ||
| WorldCat | ||
| |
||
| |
||
| |
| |
| |
| |
| See Texas Cemeteries for more information. | ||
Additional Cemetery Sources
- Fannin County Cemeteries ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
- Cemeteries of Fannin County ~ TXGenWeb
- Tombstone Transcription Project ~ Partial transcription of cemetery tombstones ~ USGenWeb
- Texas Historic Cemeteries ~ Partial indexes to historic cemeteries
- African American Cemeteries Online ~ Partial index/transcriptions of African American cemeteries
- Cemetery Junction ~ Links to cemetery transcriptions
Census
- 1840 Texas Slave Holders
- 1850 Fannin County Slave Holders
- 1850 Fannin County Mortality Index
- 1850 Fannin County Census A-J
- 1850 Fannin County Census K-Z
- 1850 Fannin County Census 142a - 153b
- 1850 Fannin County Census 154a - 166a
- 1850 Fannin County Census 166b - 178b
- 1850 Fannin County Census 179a - End
- 1860 Texas Slave Holders
- 1860 Mortality Index
- 1860 Fannin County Census Index with active links to images
- 1860 Fannin County Census - Partial Transcription
- 1860 Census - 168A to 184A
- 1860 Census - 185A to 194A
- 1860 Census - 194B to 204A
- 1870 Fannin County Mortality Index
Church
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.
- Texas Christian Church Directory ~ ChurchAngel
Court
Land
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The Family History Library Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
- Land Abstract Indicies ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
Local Histories
Local histories are available for Fannin County, Texas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- Texas Museums ~ List of all museums in Texas ~ Wikipedia
Maps
- Fannin County Maps ~ TXGenWeb
- Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the TXGenWeb site.
Military
- Confederate Pension Applications ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
- Confederate Indigent Families List ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
- Fightin' Men of Texas, WWII ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
- Fannin County Interments with War Related Inscriptions ~ TXGenWeb
- Military Resources ~ Links to research Civil War to Operation Enduring Freedom ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Fallen Heroes ~ Partial Index of casualties from Civil War to Operation Enduring Freedom ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Honoring Our Veterans ~ Partial index of veterans from Civil War to Operation Enduring Freedom ~ Hidden Ancestors
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Fannin County, Texas newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Do a Fannin County, Texas Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
- Wikipedia has a list of online newspaper archives for Texas.
- Home Town News - Texas Newspaper Index with links
- Newslink - Texas Newspaper List (sorted by publication frequency)
- The Olden Times - Historic Texas News Online
- Newspaperarchive.com ($) has historical newspapers available on-line. Their database has The Paris News from 1925 that may include residents from Fannin County.
Obituaries
- Obituary Resources ~ Links to research and locate obituaries ~ Hidden Ancestors
- USGenWeb Archives Obituary Project ~ Texas
- Afrigeneas ~ African American death notices, obituaries and funeral programs compiled by users from current newspapers and historical sources
- Obituary Depot ~ Texas Newspaper Citations
- Obituary Project ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Obituary Daily Times ~ Citations to over 15,000,000 obituaries including interactive search function
Probate
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
- Search Tax, Criminal, Land and Wills Records ~ Ancestry.com (subscription)
Taxation
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
Texas County Tax Rolls, 1846-1910 lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.
Vital Records
See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas. Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records.
A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
- Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 [no images] Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates or four million people who have died since 1964.
- Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]
Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by FamilySearch and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903. - Texas Marriage Records 1966 - 2005 ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Texas Divorce Records 1968 - 2005 ~ Hidden Ancestors
- USGenWeb Census Project ~ Texas 1850 - 1930
Societies and Libraries
Bertha Voyer Memorial Library
500 N 6th St
Honey Grove, TX 75446
Phone: (903) 378-2206
Website
Bonham Public Library
305 E 5th St
Bonham, TX 75418
Phone: (903) 583-3128
Website
Leonard Public Library
102 S Main
Leonard, TX 75452
Phone: (903) 587-2391
Family History Center
Texas Hwy 78 South
Bonham, Fannin, Texas, United States
Phone: 903-583-4949
Society Hill ~ Links and addresses to Texas genealogical and historical societies
Web Sites
- Fannin County TXGenWeb site
- TXGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county.
- Hidden Ancestors Information on Texas genealogy research as well as genealogy research in general.
- USGenWeb Texas Archives Vital statistics, maps, obituaries, Bible records, tombstone transcriptions and many other records.
- Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Fannin County, Texas. Page 663 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Bonham, TX Fannin County Courthouse Fire, Dec 1929 http://www3.gendisasters.com/texas/10007/bonham-tx-courthouse-fire-dec-1929
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 16 May 2013, at 15:22.
- This page has been accessed 2,642 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

