Far Forest, Shropshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Far Forest, Shropshire)

England Gotoarrow.png ShropshireGotoarrow.png Shropshire Parishes

Guide to Far Forest, Shropshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Far Forest, Shropshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Doddingtree; Stottesdon; Wolphy
County Shropshire
Poor Law Union Cleobury Mortimer; Kidderminster
Registration District Cleobury Mortimer; Kidderminster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1848
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Burford
Diocese Hereford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Shropshire Record Office

Parish History

FAR-FOREST, a chapelry in Ribbesford and Rock parishes, Worcester, and Stottesden parish, Shropshire; near the Bewdley and Tenbury railway, 4 miles W of Bewdley. Post town, Bayton, under Bewdley.[1]


For more information and records see Far Forest, Worcestershire.


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474589.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Shropshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.




Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 May 2015, at 15:39.
  • This page has been accessed 985 times.