Faribault County, MinnesotaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Minnesota Gotoarrow.png Faribault County

Guide to Faribault County Minnesota genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Minnesota
Online Records


Faribault County, Minnesota
Map
Map of Minnesota highlighting Faribault County
Location in the state of Minnesota
Map of the U.S. highlighting Minnesota
Location of Minnesota in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 20, 1855
County Seat Blue Earth
Courthouse
Address Faribault County Courthouse
415 North Main Street
Blue Earth, MN 56013
Phone: 507-526-6225
Phone: 507-526-6252
Faribault County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Court Administrator has birth, marriage, divorce and probate from 1870,
Court records from 1950 and naturalization records.
Register of Deeds has land records. [1]

History

Parent County

  • 1855--Faribault County was created 20 February 1855 from Blue Earth County.  County seat: Blue Earth [2]
  • For a brief history of how Faribault County was named, click here.  Then select Faribault County.

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Cities

Blue Earth | Bricelyn | Delavan | Easton | Elmore | Frost | Kiester | Minnesota Lake | Walters | Wells  | Winnebago

Townships

Barber Township | Blue Earth City Township | Brush Creek Township | Clark Township | Delavan Township | Dunbar Township | Elmore Township | Emerald Township | Foster Township | Jo Daviess Township | Kiester Township | Lura Township | Minnesota Lake Township | Pilot Grove Township | Prescott Township | Rome Township | Seely Township | Verona Township | Walnut Lake Township | Winnebago City Township

Unincorporated 

Clayton | Guckeen | Homedahl | Huntley

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Minnesota Church Records.

Lutheran

Faribault County

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Faribault County, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Kiester

  • Records of Cedar Creek Lutheran Church, Hayfield, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[3]

Silo (Shiloh) Lutheran Church, Elmore

  • Records of Silo (Shiloh) Lutheran Church, Elmore, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[3]

South Blue Earth Lutheran Church, Bricelyn

  • Records of South Blue Earth Lutheran Church, Bricelyn, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[3]

Wells

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Wells, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court

Land

The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

Land records for Minnesota are listed in the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:

MINNESOTA, Faribault – LAND AND PROPERTY

Fairmont Park.JPG
 

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Faribault County, Minnesota. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.

Maps

Mnfaribault.jpg

Military

Civil War

Civil War service men from Faribault County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Faribault County.

- 1st Regiment, Minnesota Cavalry (Mounted Rangers), Companies B and K.
- 1st Regiment, Minnesota Heavy Artillery, Company F.
- 2nd Regiment, Minnesota Cavalry, Companies H and K.
- 5th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Companies C and F.
- 9th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company D.
- Brackett's Battalion, Minnesota Cavalry, Company B.


Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Faribault County, Minnesota newspapers in online catalogs like:

To find if your town's newspaper is in the collection of the Minnesota Historical Society in St. Paul, you can click on the link to find their catalog of newspaper holdings. They also sell microfilm copies of their newspaper holdings.

Probate

Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.

Taxation

Minnesota tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota State Registrar of Vital Records, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred], order electronically online or download an application for Minnesota Birth Certificate and Death Certificates Applications to mail.

See also Minnesota Vital Records or How to order Minnesota Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.

Faribault County Recorder (fee for copies)

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Faribault County, Minnesota page 364, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 "Evangelical Lutheran Church in America: An Inventory of Selected Congregational Records of the American Lutheran Church in Minnesota at the Minnesota Historical Society," Collection Finding Aids, Minnesota Historical Society, http://www.mnhs.org/library/findaids/01009.xml, accessed 10 June 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:53.
  • This page has been accessed 10,464 times.