Farington, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Farington, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Farington, Lancashire
Farington St Paul contributor Galatas.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Leyland
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Preston PLU
Registration District Preston
Records begin
Parish registers: 1826
Bishop's Transcripts: 1608
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Leyland
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

Farington was created a chapelry in 1840 from Penwortham, Lancashire, union of Preston, hundred of Leyland, N.division of the county of Lancaster, 3 miles (S.) from Preston. The parish includes the villages of Farington and Farington Moss, and parts of Lostock Hall and Whitestake. [1]

Farington is a small village and civil parish in the South Ribble local government district of Lancashire, England. Situated to the immediate north of Leyland, Farington consists of villages, farms and mossland, modern residential development and an industrial area around the Leyland Trucks headquarters and assembly plant.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Farington chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Penwortham to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


FARINGTON ST PAUL Chapelry (1840) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1840-1900 1858-1900  1840-1900
LOPC 1840-1900 1858-1900 1840-1900
PENWORTHAM ST MARY PARISH (1608) Indexes (ancient parish containing FARINGTON Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1608-1839; 1858-1901 1616-1884              1818-1839         
LOPC 1741-1900 1608-1900 1794-1900
FMP  None None None
LBMD None 1837-2008 None 
AC 1608-1755 1608-1755 1608-1755


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Farington and comprising the whole ancient parish of Penwortham to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the PENWORTHAM PARISH page.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306913.


Poor Law Unions

Preston Poor Law Union, Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis , A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 209-213. Date accessed: 12 August 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:10.
  • This page has been accessed 2,420 times.