Farndish, BedfordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Bedfordshire Gotoarrow.png Bedfordshire Parishes

Guide to Farndish, Bedfordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Farndish, Bedfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Willey
County Bedfordshire
Poor Law Union Wellingborough PLU
Registration District Wellingborough
Records begin
Parish registers: 1587
Bishop's Transcripts: 1602
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Clapham
Diocese Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Bedford
Location of Archive
Bedfordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

FARNDISH, is a parish in the district of Wellingborough and county of Bedford; it is contiguous to Northamptonshire, 1¾ miles S W of Irchester railway station, and 4 miles SSW of Higham-Ferrers. [1] Also see A Topographical Dictionary of England.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Farndish, Bedfordshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[6]
Farndish, Bedfordshire Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1880-1885


BOYD
1587-1734

IGI 1587-1875 1587-1885
NBI

1587-1855

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438876.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Bedfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Wellingborough

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Farndish on GENUKI

References

  1. John Marius Wilson Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) Date accessed: 15 November 2013
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 213-216. Date accessed: 15 November 2013.
  3. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 10 April 2014.
  4. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Bedfordshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 April 2014.
  6. 'National Burial Index - Bedfordshire Coverage,' FindMyPast (WayBack Machine), accessed 17 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 September 2014, at 14:30.
  • This page has been accessed 747 times.