Farndon, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.pngCheshireGotoarrow.pngCheshire ParishesGotoarrow.pngFarndon

Guide to Farndon, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St. Chads Fandon.JPG
Farndon (Welsh:Rhedynfre) is an ancient parish in Cheshire, England. It sits on the River Dee, which forms the border between England and Wales. The parish includes the villages of Barton, Churton by Farndon, Clutton, Crewe (near Farndon) and Farndon itself.

Contents

Parish History

FARNDON (St. Chad), is a parish, in the union of Great Boughton, Higher division of the hundred of Broxton, S. division of the county of Chester; it contains the townships of Barton, Churton, Clutton, and Crewe, in the township of Farndon, it ia 8 miles (S.) from Chester. This parish is situated on the road to Wrexham, and bounded on the west by the river Dee, which separates it from the county of Denbigh.[1]

A church was present on the site at the time of the survey for the Domesday Book and it is likely that Saxon churches had previously been there. The base of the tower and the plan of the church date from the 14th century although around 1622 the historian Webb described it as "a fair new church". During the civil war the church was badly damaged. In 1643 it was being used as a barracks for the Parliamentarians under Sir William Brereton when it was attacked by Royalists.

The village of Farndon sits on the border between England and Wales (the actual border is on the bridge which crosses the river Dee and which separates Farndon and the village of Holt in Wales.) Consequently, Farndon has a Welsh name: Rhedynfre. The village was an important place historically and has been a site of conflict and cultural exchange since the Angles settled the area in the 8th century. The border moved numerous times during the following centuries, placing Farndon alternately in Wales and England.

The English name is reported to mean "Fern Hill", and has been given as Fearndune, Farndune, Ferentone, Ferendon, Faryngdon and Ferneton, amongst other variations, since its first mention in 924AD.

Today, Farndon is a village and civil parish in the unitary authority of Cheshire West and Chester and the ceremonial county of Cheshire, England.

Resources

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241232.

Church Records

Farndon St Chad parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's = FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Farndon St Chad Parish (1603) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1601-1906
  NONE
1603-1934
  NONE
1603-1887
  NONE
FS BT'S 1605-1874
  NONE
1605-1840
  NONE
1605-1877
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

The following records are deposited at the Record Office:

  • Parish registers for Farndon, 1603-1961. CRO call number: P45/1/1-3, 2, 3/1-2, 4, 5.
  • Bishop's transcripts for Farndon, 1611-1900. CRO call number: EDB 88

The following records are available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City:

Parish registers content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1603-1784. Baptisms, burials, 1785-1838. Burials, 1839-1850. Marriage licences, 1829-1849. 2094112 Items 1 - 8
Baptisms, 1838-1906. Marriages, 1837-1961. Banns, 1824-1895. Burials, 1850-1887. 2094113 Items 5 - 9
Bishop's transcripts content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1611-1840 (with gaps), baptisms and burials, 1841-1874 (with gaps). 1655669 Item 2
Baptisms and burials, 1873-1900. 1655670 Item 1

Non-Conformist Churches

  • Farndon, Rock Chapel (Independent/Congregational). Founded 1889.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Great Boughton (1837–69)
  • Chester (1871–1937)
  • West Cheshire (1937–74)
  • Chester and Ellesmere Port (1974–98)
  • Cheshire East (1998+)

Poor Law Unions

Probate Records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place:

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 22 February 2013


Bibliography

  • Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, p. 218, ISBN 0 300 09588 0
  • Salter, Mark (1995), The Old Parish Churches of Cheshire, Malvern: Folly Publications, p. 36, ISBN 1871731232
  • Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: B. T Batsford, pp. 153–156

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:48.
  • This page has been accessed 1,716 times.