Farne Islands, NorthumberlandEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Farne Islands, Northumberland family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Farne Islands, Northumberland|
Chapel of St Cuthbert and Prior Castell Tower Inner Farne
|Poor Law Union||Belford PLU|
|Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes|
|Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes|
|Rural Deanery||Not Applicable|
|Probate Court||Search the courts of the surrounding parishes|
|Location of Archive|
|Northumberland Record Office|
FARN-ISLANDS, a cluster of seventeen small islands, in the parish of Holy-Island, union of Berwick, in Islandshire, county of Northumberland A square tower, the ruins of a church, and other buildings, are still remaining.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438891.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- This page was last modified on 28 May 2014, at 21:24.
- This page has been accessed 570 times.
Share Your Opinion!
Review redesigns of wiki pages and give your feedbackImprove the Wiki